All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.

This Census-Taker
(Unknown)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2016.
Format:
Unknown
Content Description:
208 pages
Status:
Available Online
Description

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity. Praise for This Census-Taker “China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it’s like he’s writing with diamonds.”—NPR “The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.”—Los Angeles Review of Books “[Mieville’s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.”—The Huffington Post “Marvellous.”—The Guardian “Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.”—Financial Times “A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.”—Booklist “Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.”—Kirkus Reviews

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101967331

Notes

Description
For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity. Praise for This Census-Taker “China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it’s like he’s writing with diamonds.”—NPR “The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.”—Los Angeles Review of Books “[Mieville’s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.”—The Huffington Post “Marvellous.”—The Guardian “Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.”—Financial Times “A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.”—Booklist “Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.”—Kirkus Reviews
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Miéville, C. (2016). This Census-Taker. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Miéville, China. 2016. This Census-Taker. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Miéville, China, This Census-Taker. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Miéville, China. This Census-Taker. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
70aecafc-ee02-3e94-d944-b8017001cb0c
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeMar 26, 2021 04:32:04 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 18, 2021 04:15:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03027nam a22003134 4500
001a1487968
003SIRSI
006m    ||  d |      
007cr un|||||||||
008170721s2016||||||||||||s|||||||||||eng||
020 |a 9781101967331
037 |a hqbo5z9|b cloudLibrary
040 |a MnSpTMCL|b eng|c MnSpTMCL
072 |a FIC009010|2 bisacsh
092 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
1001 |a Miéville, China.|4 aut
24510|a This Census-Taker|h [eBook] :
260 |a [S.l.]:|b Random House Publishing Group,|c 2016.
300 |a 208 p.
520 |a For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a stunning, uncanny, and profoundly moving novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling author China Miéville. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In a remote house on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly traumatic event. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left alone with his increasingly deranged parent, he dreams of safety, of joining the other children in the town below, of escape. When at last a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation might be over. But by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? What is the purpose behind his questions? Is he friend? Enemy? Or something else altogether? Filled with beauty, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of memory and identity. Praise for This Census-Taker “China Miéville is a magician . . . who can both blow your mind with ideas as big as the universe and break your heart with language so precise and polished, it’s like he’s writing with diamonds.”—NPR “The book haunts the reader; what actually happened seems always just out of reach, glimpsed in shadow as it rounds a corner ahead of our vision.”—Los Angeles Review of Books “[Mieville’s] been compared to Karen Russell and George Saunders, and rightfully so.”—The Huffington Post “Marvellous.”—The Guardian “Lingers in the mind like an unsettling dream.”—Financial Times “A thought-provoking fairy tale for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative style, quirkiness, and plotting found in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser.”—Booklist “Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively simple story whose plot could be taken as a symbolic representation of an aspect of humanity as big as an entire society and as small as a single soul.”—Kirkus Reviews
650 |a Literary|v FICTION
650 |a Contemporary|v Fantasy
655 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a cloudLibrary
85640|3 Whole product|u https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-hqbo5z9
85642|3 Front cover image|u https://images.yourcloudlibrary.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=hqbo5z9&size=ORIGINAL
930 |a cloud 2016
596 |a 22
999 |a CLOUD LIBRARY|w DEWEY|c 1|i 1487968-1001|l 3M|m Z-ELIBRARY|r N|s Y|t Z-E-BOOK|u 6/25/2018