All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn on library property by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

The Best Man
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[S.l.]: Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016.
Format:
eBook
Content Description:
240 pages
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 4.1 - AR Pts: 6
Lexile measure:
540L
Status:
Available Online
Description

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780698189737
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.1, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
540

Notes

Description
Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Peck, R. (2016). The Best Man. [S.l.]: Penguin Young Readers Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Peck, Richard. 2016. The Best Man. [S.l.]: Penguin Young Readers Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Peck, Richard, The Best Man. [S.l.]: Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Peck, Richard. The Best Man. [S.l.]: Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9a033f29-15e1-0b6f-728f-c950f214d1af
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:10:49 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 16, 2021 04:15:51 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02215nam a22003374 4500
001a1491870
003SIRSI
006m    ||  d |      
007cr un|||||||||
008180621s2016||||||||||||s|||||||||||eng||
020 |a 9780698189737
037 |a ky5sqg9|b cloudLibrary
040 |a MnSpTMCL|b eng|c MnSpTMCL
041##|a eng
072 |a JUV013000|2 bisacsh
092 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
1001 |a Peck, Richard.|4 aut
24514|a The Best Man|h [eBook] :
260 |a [S.l.]:|b Penguin Young Readers Group,|c 2016.
300 |a 240 p.
520 |a Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.
650 |a Family|v JUVENILE FICTION
650 |a School & Education|v JUVENILE FICTION
650 |a LGBT|v JUVENILE FICTION
655 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a cloudLibrary
85640|3 Whole product|u https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-ky5sqg9
85642|3 Front cover image|u https://images.yourcloudlibrary.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=ky5sqg9&size=ORIGINAL
930 |a cloud38893
596 |a 22
999 |a CLOUD LIBRARY|w DEWEY|c 1|i 1491870-1001|l 3M|m Z-ELIBRARY|r N|s Y|t Z-E-BOOK|u 6/25/2018