Curbside Plus Services include curbside pickup and in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Please call a library to schedule.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn on library property by anyone over the age of two.

Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Smell of Other People's Houses
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[S.l.]: Random House Children's Books, 2016.
Format:
eBook
Content Description:
240 pages
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG+ - BL: 5.7 - AR Pts: 8
Lexile measure:
960L
Status:
Available Online
Description

“Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut.” —Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here   “[A] singular debut. . . .  [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal   This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.   Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.   Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.    Praise: William C. Morris Finalist Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction Tayshas Reading List—Top 10 List New York Public Library’s Best 50 Books for Teens Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best List Shelf Awareness, Best Children’s & Teen Books of the Year Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award “Hitchcock’s debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study—a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age.” —John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior   “As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there.” —Bustle.com

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
CLOUD LIBRARY, 9780553497809
Accelerated Reader:
MG+
Level 5.7, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
960

Notes

Description
“Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut.” —Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here   “[A] singular debut. . . .  [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal   This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.   Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.   Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.    Praise: William C. Morris Finalist Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction Tayshas Reading List—Top 10 List New York Public Library’s Best 50 Books for Teens Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best List Shelf Awareness, Best Children’s & Teen Books of the Year Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award “Hitchcock’s debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study—a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age.” —John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior   “As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there.” —Bustle.com
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Hitchcock, B. (2016). The Smell of Other People's Houses. [S.l.]: Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hitchcock, Bonnie-Sue. 2016. The Smell of Other People's Houses. [S.l.]: Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hitchcock, Bonnie-Sue, The Smell of Other People's Houses. [S.l.]: Random House Children's Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Hitchcock, Bonnie-Sue. The Smell of Other People's Houses. [S.l.]: Random House Children's Books, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
16aa4fe8-77e5-2b74-424d-ab13f34c4a0c
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:10:58 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 02, 2021 04:16:33 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03422nam a22003614 4500
001a1493269
003SIRSI
006m    ||  d |      
007cr un|||||||||
008180621s2016||||||||||||s|||||||||||eng||
020 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
020 |a 9780553497809
035 |a (Sirsi) 9780553497809
037 |a hx1c8r9|b cloudLibrary
040 |a MnSpTMCL|b eng|c MnSpTMCL
041##|a eng
092 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
1001 |a Hitchcock, Bonnie-Sue.|4 aut
24514|a The Smell of Other People's Houses|h [eBook] :
260 |a [S.l.]:|b Random House Children's Books,|c 2016.
300 |a 240 p.
520 |a “Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s Alaska is beautiful and wholly unfamiliar…. A thrilling, arresting debut.” —Gayle Forman, New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here   “[A] singular debut. . . .  [Hitchcock] weav[es] the alternating voices of four young people into a seamless and continually surprising story of risk, love, redemption, catastrophe, and sacrifice.” —The Wall Street Journal   This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.   Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.   Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable William C. Morris Award finalist is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.    Praise: William C. Morris Finalist Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction Tayshas Reading List—Top 10 List New York Public Library’s Best 50 Books for Teens Chicago Public Library, Best of the Best List Shelf Awareness, Best Children’s & Teen Books of the Year Nominated to the Oklahoma Sequoya Book Award Master List Nominated to the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award “Hitchcock’s debut resonates with the timeless quality of a classic. This is a fascinating character study—a poetic interweaving of rural isolation and coming-of-age.” —John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Where Things Come Back and Highly Illogical Behavior   “As an Alaskan herself, Bonnie Sue Hitchcock is able to bring alive this town, and this group of poor teens and their families that live there.” —Bustle.com
650 |a Emotions & Feelings|v Social Themes
650 |a Family|v YOUNG ADULT FICTION
650 |a Native American|v United States
655 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a cloudLibrary
85640|3 Whole product|u https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-hx1c8r9
85642|3 Front cover image|u https://images.yourcloudlibrary.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=hx1c8r9&size=ORIGINAL
930 |a cloud fix 082718
930 |a cloud38892
596 |a 22
999 |a XX(1493269.1)|w AUTO|c 1|i 1493269-1001|l 3M|m Z-ELIBRARY|r N|s Y|t Z-E-BOOK|u 6/25/2018