All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn inside libraries by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

Crime of Privilege: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2013.
Format:
eBook
Content Description:
432 pages
Status:
Available Online
Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.   A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.   All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.   Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.   What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for Crime of Privilege   “Twisting, engrossing, irresistible.”—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob   “Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!”—John Lescroart   “A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption.”—Maclean’s   “A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author’s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp.”—Bookreporter   “An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.”—Examiner.com From the Hardcover edition.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780345541543

Notes

Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.   A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.   All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.   Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.   What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for Crime of Privilege   “Twisting, engrossing, irresistible.”—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob   “Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!”—John Lescroart   “A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption.”—Maclean’s   “A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author’s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp.”—Bookreporter   “An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.”—Examiner.com From the Hardcover edition.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Walker, W. (2013). Crime of Privilege: A Novel. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Walker, Walter. 2013. Crime of Privilege: A Novel. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Walker, Walter, Crime of Privilege: A Novel. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Walker, Walter. Crime of Privilege: A Novel. [S.l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
828d294a-98bb-4f00-091e-6ff5d247b47f
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:11:14 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 07, 2021 04:15:50 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03737nam a22003254 4500
001a1495621
003SIRSI
006m    ||  d |      
007cr un|||||||||
008170721s2013||||||||||||s|||||||||||eng||
020 |a 9780345541543
037 |a bd4nug9|b cloudLibrary
040 |a MnSpTMCL|b eng|c MnSpTMCL
072 |a FIC031000|2 bisacsh
092 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
1001 |a Walker, Walter.|4 aut
24510|a Crime of Privilege|b A Novel|h [eBook] :
260 |a [S.l.]:|b Random House Publishing Group,|c 2013.
300 |a 432 p.
520 |a NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.   A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.   All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.   Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.   What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for Crime of Privilege   “Twisting, engrossing, irresistible.”—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob   “Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!”—John Lescroart   “A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption.”—Maclean’s   “A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author’s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp.”—Bookreporter   “An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.”—Examiner.com From the Hardcover edition.
650 |a Thrillers|v FICTION
650 |a Legal|v FICTION
650 |a Mystery & Detective|v FICTION
655 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a cloudLibrary
85640|3 Whole product|u https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-bd4nug9
85642|3 Front cover image|u https://images.yourcloudlibrary.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=bd4nug9&size=ORIGINAL
930 |a cloud 2013
596 |a 22
999 |a CLOUD LIBRARY|w DEWEY|c 1|i 1495621-1001|l 3M|m Z-ELIBRARY|r N|s Y|t Z-E-BOOK|u 6/25/2018