Text Messaging Service Unavailable: The text messaging service which alerts customers to available holds and overdue items is currently down. Please login to your account to view the latest holds and overdue information.

The Glen Burnie Library is closed August 8 - 22 for carpet replacement. Information about holds pickup and more details.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The German Girl: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[Place of publication not identified]: Atria Books, 2016.
Format:
eBook
Content Description:
368 pages
Status:
Available Online
Description

A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “powerful and affecting” (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Schindler’s List. Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they’ll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the S.S. St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers’ fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom. Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world. The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501121241

Notes

Description
A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “powerful and affecting” (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Schindler’s List. Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they’ll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the S.S. St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers’ fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom. Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world. The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Correa, A. L. (2016). The German Girl: A Novel. [Place of publication not identified]: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Correa, Armando Lucas. 2016. The German Girl: A Novel. [Place of publication not identified]: Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Correa, Armando Lucas, The German Girl: A Novel. [Place of publication not identified]: Atria Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Correa, Armando Lucas. The German Girl: A Novel. [Place of publication not identified]: Atria Books, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeJul 16, 2021 04:40:18 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeAug 14, 2022 04:31:43 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03381cam a22003854 4500
001a1559055
003SIRSI
006m    ||  d |      
007cr un|||||||||
008181120s2016||||||||||||s|||||||| ||eng||
020 |a 9781501121241
035 |a (Sirsi) i9781501121241
037 |a k4n9xg9|b cloudLibrary
040 |a MnSpTMCL|b eng|c MnSpTMCL
041 |a eng
072 0|a FIC014000|2 bisacsh
092 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
1001 |a Correa, Armando Lucas,|e author.
24514|a The German Girl|b A Novel|h [eBook] :
260 |a [Place of publication not identified]:|b Atria Books,|c 2016.
300 |a 368 pages
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
520 |a A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “powerful and affecting” (Kirkus Reviews) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, All the Light We Cannot See, and Schindler’s List. Before everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they’ll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the S.S. St. Louis, a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers’ fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom. Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world. The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana. Based on a true story, this masterful novel gives voice to the joys and sorrows of generations of exiles, forever seeking a place called home.
650 4|a Historical|v Fiction.
650 4|a Jewish|v Fiction.
650 4|a Sagas|v Fiction.
655 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a cloudLibrary.
85640|3 Whole product|u https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-k4n9xg9
85642|3 Front cover image|u https://images.yourcloudlibrary.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=k4n9xg9&size=ORIGINAL
596 |a 22
930 |a 181119
999 |a CLOUD LIBRARY|w DEWEY|c 1|i 1559055-1001|l 3M|m Z-ELIBRARY|r N|s Y|t Z-E-BOOK|u 11/20/2018