All library locations will be closed through June 15 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. More information.
Fines will not be charged while the library system is closed. Please keep your items until we reopen.

Get a Virtual Library Card

A Good Enough Mother: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
[S.l.]: Penguin Publishing Group, 2019.
Format:
eBook
Content Description:
352 pages
Status:
Available Online
Description
"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient. " --Booklist A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . . Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality.... An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780525561262

Notes

Description
"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . . Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality.... An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Thomas, B. (2019). A Good Enough Mother: A Novel. [S.l.]: Penguin Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Thomas, Bev. 2019. A Good Enough Mother: A Novel. [S.l.]: Penguin Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Thomas, Bev, A Good Enough Mother: A Novel. [S.l.]: Penguin Publishing Group, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Thomas, Bev. A Good Enough Mother: A Novel. [S.l.]: Penguin Publishing Group, 2019. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7cbee42a-be93-2338-9add-8762ab34b295
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeAug 29, 2019 10:36:51 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 23, 2020 04:15:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02453nam a22003374 4500
001a1608954
003SIRSI
006m    ||  d |      
007cr un|||||||||
008190510s2019||||||||||||s|||||||||||eng||
020 |a 9780525561262
037 |a tyo9tr9|b cloudLibrary
040 |a MnSpTMCL|b eng|c MnSpTMCL
041##|a eng
072 |a FIC044000|2 bisacsh
092 |a CLOUD LIBRARY
1001 |a Thomas, Bev.|4 aut
24512|a A Good Enough Mother|b A Novel|h [ebook] :
260 |a [S.l.]:|b Penguin Publishing Group,|c 2019.
300 |a 352 p.
520 |a "Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . . Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality.... An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.
650 |a Family Life|v FICTION
650 |a Thrillers|v FICTION
650 |a Contemporary Women|v FICTION
655 0|a Electronic books.
7102 |a cloudLibrary
85640|3 Whole product|u https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-tyo9tr9
85642|3 Front cover image|u https://images.yourcloudlibrary.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=tyo9tr9&size=ORIGINAL
930 |a cloud54352
596 |a 22
999 |a CLOUD LIBRARY|w DEWEY|c 1|i 1608954-1001|l 3M|m Z-ELIBRARY|r N|s Y|t Z-E-BOOK|u 5/10/2019