The Riviera Beach Library is currently closed.

The Anatomist's Apprentice

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2011
Language:
English
Description

In this eighteenth-century historical mystery series opener, an English lady looks to an American anatomist's forensic skills to clear her husband's name.
The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip through the seedy taverns and elegant ballrooms of Oxfordshire. Few mourn the dissolute young man—except his sister, the beautiful Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, she seeks expert help from Dr. Thomas Silkstone, a young anatomist from Philadelphia.
Thomas arrived in England to study under its foremost surgeon, where his unconventional methods only add to his outsider status. Against his better judgment he agrees to examine Sir Edward's corpse. But it is not only the dead, but also the living, to whom he must apply the keen blade of his intellect. And the deeper the doctor's investigations go, the greater the risk that he will be consigned to the ranks of the corpses he studies . . .
Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice
"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." —Library Journal
"Densely plotted . . . We await—indeed, demand—the sequel." —The New York Times Book Review
"An absorbing debut . . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." —Publishers Weekly

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780758278029
9781481589673
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0192d875-0b2c-fc33-ec71-d46ead00aaac
Grouping Titleanatomists apprentice
Grouping Authortessa harris
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-29 04:05:51AM
Last Indexed2024-02-29 04:23:29AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Harris, Tessa
author_display
Harris, Tessa
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In this eighteenth-century historical mystery series opener, an English lady looks to an American anatomist's forensic skills to clear her husband's name.
The death of Sir Edward Crick has unleashed a torrent of gossip through the seedy taverns and elegant ballrooms of Oxfordshire. Few mourn the dissolute young man—except his sister, the beautiful Lady Lydia Farrell. When her husband comes under suspicion of murder, she seeks expert help from Dr. Thomas Silkstone, a young anatomist from Philadelphia.
Thomas arrived in England to study under its foremost surgeon, where his unconventional methods only add to his outsider status. Against his better judgment he agrees to examine Sir Edward's corpse. But it is not only the dead, but also the living, to whom he must apply the keen blade of his intellect. And the deeper the doctor's investigations go, the greater the risk that he will be consigned to the ranks of the corpses he studies . . .
Praise for The Anatomist's Apprentice
"Smart misdirection and time-period appropriate medical details make for a promising start to a new series. A strong choice for readers of Ariana Franklin and Caleb Carr." —Library Journal
"Densely plotted . . . We await—indeed, demand—the sequel." —The New York Times Book Review
"An absorbing debut . . . Harris has more than a few tricks up her sleeve and even veteran armchair puzzle solvers are likely to be surprised." —Publishers Weekly

format_aacpl
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
0192d875-0b2c-fc33-ec71-d46ead00aaac
isbn
9780758278029
9781481589673
last_indexed
2024-02-29T09:23:29.992Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780758278029
publishDate
2011
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
Kensington Books
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries
series_with_volume
Dr. Thomas Silkstone mysteries|1
title_display
The Anatomist's Apprentice
title_full
The Anatomist's Apprentice
The Anatomist's Apprentice A Dr. Thomas Silkstone Mystery
title_short
The Anatomist's Apprentice
topic_facet
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Mystery

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:8f3c3683-ad5f-4dea-b4d1-95549650bb9d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books10falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:8f3c3683-ad5f-4dea-b4d1-95549650bb9d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook12falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4c1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:8f3c3683-ad5f-4dea-b4d1-95549650bb9deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2011
overdrive:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4ceBookeBookEnglishKensington Books2011

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8f3c3683-ad5f-4dea-b4d1-95549650bb9d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:8f3c3683-ad5f-4dea-b4d1-95549650bb9d1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4c-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:465492df-ab50-454d-9565-4ac4e42e7f4c1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue