All individuals ages two and older who enter Anne Arundel County Public Library buildings
are required to wear a mask, regardless of vaccination status.

Learn more about how AACPL is working to keep customers and staff safe.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Click here to make your library better.

Dead Letters: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel with eccentric, dysfunctional characters who will keep you guessing until the end—for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Wife Between Us.
 
Ava has her reasons for running away to Paris. But when she receives the shocking news that her twin sister, Zelda, is dead, she is forced to return home to her family’s failing vineyard in upstate New York. Knowing Zelda’s penchant for tricks and deception, Ava is not surprised when she receives her twin’s cryptic message from beyond the grave. Following her sister’s trail of clues, Ava immerses herself in Zelda’s drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers, and soon finds herself confronted with dark family legacies and twisted relationships. Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut thriller is a literary scavenger hunt for secrets hidden everywhere from wine country to social media, and buried at the dysfunctional heart of one utterly unforgettable family.
 
Praise for Dead Letters
 
“Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld.”—Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone
 
“A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know . . . Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O’Neill.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“A smart, dazzling mystery . . . Dolan-Leach revels in toying with both Ava and her audience . . . and the result is captivating.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Draws you in like you are part of the story itself, living and breathing alongside the compelling characters as they uncover the dark secrets of their complicated family.”—Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten
 
“Push-pull tension . . . This book is wine-soaked yet lucid, comforting and frightening, asking the big questions about intimacy and loyalty.”—Caroline Kepnes, author of You
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780399588860
9780735287044
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0651accc-ace6-c0c0-c7d6-c1d2492b268e
Grouping Titledead letters
Grouping Authorcaite dolan leach
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-12-03 04:08:23AM
Last Indexed2021-12-03 04:54:38AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDolan-Leach, Caite
author2-rolecloudLibrary.
author_displayDolan-Leach, Caite
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionA missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel with eccentric, dysfunctional characters who will keep you guessing until the end—for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Wife Between Us.
 
Ava has her reasons for running away to Paris. But when she receives the shocking news that her twin sister, Zelda, is dead, she is forced to return home to her family’s failing vineyard in upstate New York. Knowing Zelda’s penchant for tricks and deception, Ava is not surprised when she receives her twin’s cryptic message from beyond the grave. Following her sister’s trail of clues, Ava immerses herself in Zelda’s drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers, and soon finds herself confronted with dark family legacies and twisted relationships. Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut thriller is a literary scavenger hunt for secrets hidden everywhere from wine country to social media, and buried at the dysfunctional heart of one utterly unforgettable family.
 
Praise for Dead Letters
 
“Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld.”—Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone
 
“A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know . . . Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O’Neill.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“A smart, dazzling mystery . . . Dolan-Leach revels in toying with both Ava and her audience . . . and the result is captivating.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Draws you in like you are part of the story itself, living and breathing alongside the compelling characters as they uncover the dark secrets of their complicated family.”—Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten
 
“Push-pull tension . . . This book is wine-soaked yet lucid, comforting and frightening, asking the big questions about intimacy and loyalty.”—Caroline Kepnes, author of You
format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
id0651accc-ace6-c0c0-c7d6-c1d2492b268e
isbn9780399588860
9780735287044
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14933891493389-1001OnlineXX(1493389.1)eBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-mx8spr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:9232a225-b1f2-435e-81a8-acfc705f01a21Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2021-12-03T09:54:38.561Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
XX(1493389.1)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780399588860
publishDate2017
publisherPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
external_econtent:ils:a1493389eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.352 pages
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0deBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:9232a225-b1f2-435e-81a8-acfc705f01a2eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14933891493389-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:9232a225-b1f2-435e-81a8-acfc705f01a21Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetContemporary Women -- Fiction
Electronic books
Literary -- Fiction
Suspense -- Thrillers
title_displayDead Letters A Novel
title_fullDead Letters A Novel
Dead Letters A Novel [eBook] Dolan-Leach, Caite
title_shortDead Letters
title_subA Novel
topic_facetContemporary Women
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Suspense
Thriller