Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.
 

The Linthicum Library will be closed from Monday, October 26 through Wednesday, November 4 for HVAC replacement. 

 

Dead letters: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel with eccentric, dysfunctional characters who will keep you guessing until the end--for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Wife Between Us. Ava has her reasons for running away to Paris. But when she receives the shocking news that her twin sister, Zelda, is dead, she is forced to return home to her family's failing vineyard in upstate New York. Knowing Zelda's penchant for tricks and deception, Ava is not surprised when she receives her twin's cryptic message from beyond the grave. Following her sister's trail of clues, Ava immerses herself in Zelda's drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers, and soon finds herself confronted with dark family legacies and twisted relationships. Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending? Caite Dolan-Leach's debut thriller is a literary scavenger hunt for secrets hidden everywhere from wine country to social media, and buried at the dysfunctional heart of one utterly unforgettable family. Praise for Dead Letters "Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld." --Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone "A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know . . . Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O'Neill." --Kirkus Reviews "A smart, dazzling mystery . . . Dolan-Leach revels in toying with both Ava and her audience . . . and the result is captivating."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Draws you in like you are part of the story itself, living and breathing alongside the compelling characters as they uncover the dark secrets of their complicated family." --Wendy Walker, author of All Is Not Forgotten "Push-pull tension . . . This book is wine-soaked yet lucid, comforting and frightening, asking the big questions about intimacy and loyalty." --Caroline Kepnes, author of You
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780399588853
9780399588860
9780735287044
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0651accc-ace6-c0c0-c7d6-c1d2492b268e
Grouping Titledead letters
Grouping Authorcaite dolan leach
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-28 04:16:51AM
Last Indexed2020-10-28 04:42:15AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDolan-Leach, Caite,
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayDolan-Leach, Caite
available_at_aacplDeale Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplDeale Library - Adult Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead. Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls' increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message--from her sister..."--Book jacket.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id0651accc-ace6-c0c0-c7d6-c1d2492b268e
isbn9780399588853
9780399588860
9780735287044
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14933891493389-1001OnlineXX(1493389.1)eBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-mx8spr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:9232a225-b1f2-435e-81a8-acfc705f01a21Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a133225431997095315818Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult FictionMYSTERY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 20, 2019EAN
ils:a133225431997095315792Deale Library - Adult FictionMYSTERY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 10, 2019SCO
ils:a133225431997095315834Glen Burnie Library - Adult FictionMYSTERY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 17, 2019NCO
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-10-28T08:42:15.281Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplMYSTERY FICTION (D)
Online OverDrive
XX(1493389.1)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplDeale Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780399588853
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1493389eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.352 p.
external_econtent:ils:a1493389eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.352 p.
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0deBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:9232a225-b1f2-435e-81a8-acfc705f01a2eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
ils:a1332254BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2017]332 pages ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14933891493389-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:9e2bb9a0-5f62-4547-a4a8-ae3c4e0efc0d1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:9232a225-b1f2-435e-81a8-acfc705f01a21Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a133225431997095315818On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a133225431997095315792On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a133225431997095315834On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetContemporary Women -- FICTION
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Literary -- FICTION
Mystery fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense -- Thrillers
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Twin sisters -- Fiction
title_displayDead letters : a novel
title_fullDead Letters A Novel
Dead Letters A Novel [eBook] Dolan-Leach, Caite.
Dead letters : a novel / Caite Dolan-Leach
title_shortDead letters
title_subA Novel
topic_facetContemporary Women
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Mystery fiction
Suspense
Thriller
Twin sisters