We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The secret life of bees: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.7 - AR Pts: 15
Lexile measure:
840L
Description
Sue Monk Kidd's first novel The Secret Life of Bees , a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, and a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick   Fans of The Help will love Sue Monk Kidd's Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America "Read This" Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964,  The Secret Life of Bees  will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett's The Help and Beth Hoffman's Saving CeeCee Honeycutt , and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780142001745
9780143124320
9781101010969
9780670894604
9780143114550
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.7, 15 Points
Lexile measure:
840L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID09ab8ab9-7998-7121-5e77-94b459cf0847
Grouping Titlesecret life of bees
Grouping Authorsue monk kidd
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 04:16:46AM
Last Indexed2020-09-19 04:43:35AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780670894604

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value15
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.7
authorKidd, Sue Monk.
author_displayKidd, Sue Monk
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBusch Annapolis Library - Adult Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionThe multi-million bestselling novel about a young girl's journey towards healing and the transforming power of love, from the award-winning author of The Invention of Wings and the forthcoming novel The Book of Longings
Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the deepest racists in town, Lily decides to spring them both free. They escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. Taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sister, Lily is introduced to their mesmerizing world of bees and honey, and the Black Madonna. This is a remarkable novel about divine female power, a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.
format_aacplBook
eBook
format_category_aacplBooks
eBook
id09ab8ab9-7998-7121-5e77-94b459cf0847
isbn9780142001745
9780143114550
9780143124320
9780670894604
9781101010969
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a169916031997106721848Busch Annapolis Library - Adult FictionFICTION (K)1falsefalseChecked OutSep 10, 2020ANN
overdrive:a873cb28-f4b2-4a13-935c-d36488bc7e0e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:a873cb28-f4b2-4a13-935c-d36488bc7e0e1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-19T08:43:35.28Z
lexile_score840
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplFICTION (K)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBusch Annapolis Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780142001745
publishDate2002
2003
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1699160BookBooksHardcover edition.EnglishPenguin Books, 2013.313 pages ; 20 cm
overdrive:a873cb28-f4b2-4a13-935c-d36488bc7e0eeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2003
ils:a187079BookBooksEnglishViking, c2002.xii, 301 p. : 23 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a169916031997106721848Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:a873cb28-f4b2-4a13-935c-d36488bc7e0e-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:a873cb28-f4b2-4a13-935c-d36488bc7e0e1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesPenguin drop caps
series_with_volumePenguin drop caps|
subject_facetAfrican American women -- Fiction
Beekeepers -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Domestic fiction
Maternal deprivation -- Fiction
Race relations -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
South Carolina -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
title_displayThe secret life of bees
title_fullThe Secret Life of Bees
The secret life of bees / Sue Monk Kidd
The secret life of bees : a novel / by Sue Monk Kidd
title_shortThe secret life of bees
title_suba novel
topic_facetAfrican American women
Beekeepers
Fiction
Literature
Maternal deprivation
Race relations
Sisters
Teenage girls