Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

Buffalo Nickel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
BookBaby
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781626759947
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID09b3f4c4-6546-9c86-12bc-f763a16c9467
Grouping Titlebuffalo nickel
Grouping Authorc w smith
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-27 04:07:49AM
Last Indexed2023-01-27 05:17:04AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Smith, C.W.
author_display
Smith, C.W.
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

format_aacpl
eBook
format_category_aacpl
eBook
id
09b3f4c4-6546-9c86-12bc-f763a16c9467
isbn
9781626759947
last_indexed
2023-01-27T10:17:04.031Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781626759947
publishDate
2013
publisher
BookBaby
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
Buffalo Nickel
title_full
Buffalo Nickel
title_short
Buffalo Nickel
topic_facet
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cfeBookeBookEnglishBookBaby2013

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue