The subway girls: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description

From the author of The Balance Project comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. "Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." --Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse , this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives." --Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend--the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose--does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision thatwill change the lives of those around her forever.

Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she's secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia's urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job--and her future.

The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781250169761
9781250169778
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0e40f2dd-3a3b-5eed-941d-20d125270819
Grouping Title subway girls
Grouping Author schnall susie orman
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-21 13:16:49PM
Last Indexed 2018-10-21 13:19:48PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Susie Orman Schnall
author2-role cloudLibrary
author_display Schnall, Susie Orman
available_at_aacpl Mountain Road Library, Severn Library
collection_aacpl ADULT, CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Adult Fiction, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction, Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction, Maryland City at Russett Library - Adult Fiction, Mountain Road Library - Adult Fiction, Odenton Library - Adult Fiction, Online, Online OverDrive Collection, Severn Library - Adult Fiction, Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_description In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend--the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose--does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision thatwill change the lives of those around her forever. Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she's secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia's urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job--and her future. The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.
format_aacpl Book, eBook
format_category_aacpl Books, eBook
id 0e40f2dd-3a3b-5eed-941d-20d125270819
isbn 9781250169761, 9781250169778
item_details external_econtent:ils:a1511104|1511104-1001|Online|CLOUD LIBRARY|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|CLOUD LIBRARY||https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-qzkv9g9||Available Online||Z-ELIBRARY||, ils:a1503842|31997101042653|Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 16, 2018|EAN||, ils:a1503842|31997101042661|Odenton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 17, 2018|WCO||, ils:a1503842|31997101042869|Mountain Road Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 02, 2018|MTR||, ils:a1503842|31997101042877|Severn Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 26, 2018|PRO||, ils:a1503842|31997101042885|Crofton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 13, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1503842|31997101042893|Maryland City at Russett Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 16, 2018|MDC||, ils:a1503842|31997101042901|Odenton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 18, 2018|WCO||, ils:a1503842|31997101042919|Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Sep 11, 2018|S-PK||, ils:a1503842|31997101042927|Odenton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 08, 2018|WCO||, ils:a1503842|31997101042935|Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 21, 2018|NCO||, ils:a1503842|31997101042943|Crofton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (S)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 10, 2018|CRO||, overdrive:6be26c7f-2f74-41c2-8d04-e6049058ec78|1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_aacpl , Adult General Fiction, Electronic Book
last_indexed 2018-10-21T17:19:48.813Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl CLOUD LIBRARY, FICTION (S), Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_aacpl Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library, Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library, Glen Burnie Library, Maryland City at Russett Library, Mountain Road Library, Odenton Library, Online OverDrive Collection, Severn Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9781250169761
publishDate 2018
record_details external_econtent:ils:a1511104|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press,|2018.|320 p., ils:a1503842|Book|Books|First Edition.|English|St. Martin's Griffin,|2018.|304 pages ; 21 cm, ils:a1511104|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press,|2018.|320 p., overdrive:6be26c7f-2f74-41c2-8d04-e6049058ec78|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a1511104 1511104-1001 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
overdrive:6be26c7f-2f74-41c2-8d04-e6049058ec78 1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042927 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042877 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042935 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042901 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042661 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042919 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042943 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042885 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042653 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042893 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1503842 31997101042869 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Advertising -- Fiction, Contemporary Women -- FICTION, Electronic books, Fiction, Historical -- FICTION, Work-life balance -- Fiction
title_display The subway girls
title_full The Subway Girls A Novel, The subway girls / Susie Orman Schnall, The subway girls : a novel [eBook] Schnall, Susie Orman.
title_short The subway girls
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Advertising, Contemporary Women, Fiction, Historical, Historical Fiction, Literature, Work-life balance