The subway girls: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description

From the author of The Balance Project comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. "Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." --Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis's The Dollhouse , this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women's lives." --Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend--the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose--does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever.

Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she's secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia's urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job--and her future.

The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781250169778
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 0e40f2dd-3a3b-5eed-941d-20d125270819
Grouping Title subway girls
Grouping Author schnall susie orman
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-27 04:47:02AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-16 04:44:28AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Schnall, Susie Orman.
author2-role cloudLibrary
author_display Schnall, Susie Orman
collection_aacpl CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl Online
display_description From the author of The Balance Project comes a dual-timeline narrative featuring a 1949 Miss Subways contestant and a modern-day advertising executive whose careers and lives intersect. "Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." —Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo "A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis’s The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in women’s lives." —Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friend—the intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rose—does something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will change the lives of those around her forever. Nearly 70 years later, outspoken advertising executive Olivia is pitching the NYC subways account in a last ditch effort to save her job at an advertising agency. When the charismatic boss she’s secretly in love with pits her against her misogynistic nemesis, Olivia’s urgent search for the winning strategy leads her to the historic Miss Subways campaign. As the pitch date closes in on her, Olivia finds herself dealing with a broken heart, an unlikely new love interest, and an unexpected personal connection to Miss Subways that could save her job—and her future. The Subway Girls is the charming story of two strong women, a generation apart, who find themselves up against the same eternal struggle to find an impossible balance between love, happiness, and ambition.
format_aacpl eBook
format_category_aacpl eBook
id 0e40f2dd-3a3b-5eed-941d-20d125270819
isbn 9781250169778
item_details external_econtent:ils:a1511104|1511104-1001|Online|CLOUD LIBRARY|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|CLOUD LIBRARY||https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-qzkv9g9||Available Online||Z-ELIBRARY||
itype_aacpl Electronic Book
last_indexed 2018-08-16T08:44:28.153Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl CLOUD LIBRARY
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
primary_isbn 9781250169778
publishDate 2018
record_details external_econtent:ils:a1511104|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press,|2018.|320 p., ils:a1511104|eBook|eBook||English|St. Martin's Press,|2018.|320 p.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a1511104 1511104-1001 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
subject_facet Contemporary Women -- FICTION, Electronic books, Historical -- FICTION
title_display The subway girls : a novel
title_full The subway girls : a novel [eBook] Schnall, Susie Orman.
title_short The subway girls :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Contemporary Women, Historical