The Summer House: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Atria/Emily Bestler Books,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father's eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer. Flossy Merrill has managed to--somewhat begrudgingly--gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family's Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own. No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she's selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house--the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon's "sharp and evocative" ( Kirkus Reviews ) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781501162817
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 13eab993-ef71-c2b4-4434-47672bbbacab
Grouping Title summer house
Grouping Author mckinnon hannah
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-06-26 04:37:10AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-19 04:53:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McKinnon, Hannah.
author2-role cloudLibrary
author_display McKinnon, Hannah
collection_aacpl CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl Online
display_description When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer. Flossy Merrill has managed to—somewhat begrudgingly—gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family’s Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own. No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she’s selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house—the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon’s “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.
format_aacpl eBook
format_category_aacpl eBook
id 13eab993-ef71-c2b4-4434-47672bbbacab
isbn 9781501162817
item_details external_econtent:ils:a1492287|1492287-1001|Online|CLOUD LIBRARY|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|CLOUD LIBRARY||https://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-neober9||Available Online||Z-ELIBRARY||
itype_aacpl Electronic Book
last_indexed 2018-09-19T08:53:01.987Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl CLOUD LIBRARY
local_time_since_added_aacpl Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
primary_isbn 9781501162817
publishDate 2017
record_details external_econtent:ils:a1492287|eBook|eBook||English|Atria/Emily Bestler Books,|2017.|336 p., ils:a1492287|eBook|eBook||English|Atria/Emily Bestler Books,|2017.|336 p.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a1492287 1492287-1001 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
subject_facet Contemporary Women -- FICTION, Electronic books, Family Life -- FICTION, Literary -- FICTION
title_display The Summer House A Novel
title_full The Summer House A Novel [eBook] McKinnon, Hannah.
title_short The Summer House
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Contemporary Women, Family Life, Literary