The Summer House: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Atria/Emily Bestler Books,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father's eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer. Flossy Merrill has managed to--somewhat begrudgingly--gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family's Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own. No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she's selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house--the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon's "sharp and evocative" ( Kirkus Reviews ) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781501162817
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID13eab993-ef71-c2b4-4434-47672bbbacab
Grouping Titlesummer house
Grouping Authormckinnon hannah
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-08-29 10:33:32AM
Last Indexed2019-11-18 04:16:55AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMcKinnon, Hannah.
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayMcKinnon, Hannah
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
display_descriptionWhen Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer. Flossy Merrill has managed to—somewhat begrudgingly—gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family’s Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own. No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she’s selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house—the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon’s “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.
format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id13eab993-ef71-c2b4-4434-47672bbbacab
isbn9781501162817
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14922871492287-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-neober9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2019-11-18T09:16:55.009Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formOther
literary_form_fullOther
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
primary_isbn9781501162817
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
external_econtent:ils:a1492287eBookeBookEnglishAtria/Emily Bestler Books, 2017.336 p.
ils:a1492287eBookeBookEnglishAtria/Emily Bestler Books, 2017.336 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14922871492287-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetContemporary Women -- FICTION
Electronic books
Family Life -- FICTION
Literary -- FICTION
title_displayThe Summer House : A Novel
title_fullThe Summer House A Novel [eBook] McKinnon, Hannah.
title_shortThe Summer House
title_subA Novel
topic_facetContemporary Women
Family Life
Literary