Please check the Menu tab on the left for links to our other resources such as Kanopy, Lynda.com, and Rosetta Stone.

Blood of the prodigal: Amish-Country Mystery Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the choppy waves of Lake Erie's Middle Bass Island to the too-tranquil farmlands of Holmes County's Amish countryside, mystery and foreboding lurk under layers of tradition and repression before boiling up to the surface with tragic consequences. For Jon Mills, the journey begins with his decision to retrieve his ten-year-old son from the hands of the Bishop who had ten years earlier cast Mills out of the Order, the same Bishop who is Jon Mills's father. When Mills turns up dead, dressed in Amish garb, and with the boy missing, Professor Michael Branden plunges headlong into the closed culture to unravel the mystery and find the boy. Working in tandem sometimes and at cross purposes at others with his old friend Sheriff Robertson, Professor Branden digs through the past, recent and otherwise, to uncover the truths that many would prefer to leave undisturbed. In the tradition of Tony Hillerman, P. L. Gaus depicts a culture that stands outside the norm, but one that is every bit as susceptible to the undertow of the human spirit as any we might know.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780821412763
9780821412770
9781101460979
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 16edab90-5a99-b0bc-ecd3-5d20356a728e
Grouping Title blood of the prodigal an ohio amish mystery
Grouping Author gaus paul l
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-20 04:46:30AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-20 04:52:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author P. L. Gaus
author_display P. L. Gaus
available_at_aacpl Severn Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection, Severn Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
display_description Amish bishop Eli Miller breaks the traditional isolation of his people to ask Professor Michael Brandon, who is not Amish, to find his grandson, Jeremiah, who has disappeared with his father, Jonah, although Brandon is not to notify the police or use force to recover the boy, but then Jonah is found murdered along the roadside.
format_aacpl Book, eBook
format_category_aacpl Books, eBook
id 16edab90-5a99-b0bc-ecd3-5d20356a728e
isbn 9780821412763, 9780821412770, 9781101460979
item_details ils:a154002|31997056956956|Severn Library - Adult Mystery Fiction|MYSTERY FICTION (G)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 10, 2018|PRO||, overdrive:80cd9d29-e45c-48ae-8e5c-00e9c2fe5b49|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:80cd9d29-e45c-48ae-8e5c-00e9c2fe5b49|1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|0|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_aacpl , Mystery Fiction
last_indexed 2018-11-20T09:52:21.531Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl MYSTERY FICTION (G), Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library, Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection, Severn Library
primary_isbn 9780821412763
publishDate 1999
record_details ils:a154002|Book|Books||English|Ohio University Press,|c1999.|v, 230 p. ; 23 cm., overdrive:80cd9d29-e45c-48ae-8e5c-00e9c2fe5b49|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a154002 31997056956956 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:80cd9d29-e45c-48ae-8e5c-00e9c2fe5b49 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:80cd9d29-e45c-48ae-8e5c-00e9c2fe5b49 1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
series Ohio Amish mysteries
series_with_volume Ohio Amish mysteries|1
title_display Blood of the prodigal : an Ohio Amish mystery
title_full Blood of the Prodigal Amish-Country Mystery Series, Book 1, Blood of the prodigal : an Ohio Amish mystery / P.L. Gaus
title_short Blood of the prodigal :
title_sub Amish-Country Mystery Series, Book 1
topic_facet Christian Fiction, Fiction, Mystery, Thriller