We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Sh*t my dad says

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010.
Language:
English
Description

"This book is ridiculously hilarious, and makes my father look like a normal member of society." --Chelsea Handler

Tuesdays with Morrie meets F My Life in this hilarious book about a son's relationship with his foul-mouthed father by the comedy writer who created the massively popular Twitter feed of the same name.

A few months ago, comedy writer Justin Halpern, 29, found himself living at home with his 73-year-old father after being dumped by his longtime girlfriend. Sam Halpern had never minced words, and when Justin moved back home, he was smart enough to write down all the ridiculous things his dad said to him, like "The universe does not give a fuck about you. You are a speck in its shit," and "The worst thing you can be is a liar....Okay fine, yes, the worst thing you can be is a Nazi, but THEN, number two is liar. Nazi 1, Liar 2," and "Everybody loves that Da Vinci code book. Bullshit, it sucks. I read it. It's for all the dummies." These quotes, or philosophies, have become "Shit My Dad Says," a Twitter page that in less than a month was being followed by over 500,000 people, had spawned articles in newspapers and magazines, as well as inspiring calls from movie and television producers, celebrities, and just about everyone else who heard about the site.

SH*T MY DAD SAYS, Justin Halpern's first book, is a mix of his dad's quotations and longer-form essays in the vein of David Sedaris and Chelsea Hander. It is a hilarious, unforgettable account of a unique father-son relationship and the filthy words of wisdom that have defined it.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061992704
9780062012364
9780062002945
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1755b045-5e6c-9c94-eead-a42923c6bf94
Grouping Titlesh t my dad says
Grouping Authorjustin halpern
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-17 04:16:54AM
Last Indexed2020-09-17 04:45:49AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHalpern, Justin.
author_displayHalpern, Justin
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Deale Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Nonfiction
Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction
Deale Library - Nonfiction
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_descriptionTuesdays with Morrie meets F My Life in this hilarious coming-of-age book about a son's relationship with his foul-mouthed father by the 29-year-old comedy writer who created the massively popular Twitter feed of the same name.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id1755b045-5e6c-9c94-eead-a42923c6bf94
isbn9780061992704
9780062002945
9780062012364
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c4655f49-0411-4280-b8a3-3d0a1d8fa3961Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:c4655f49-0411-4280-b8a3-3d0a1d8fa396-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:253546cf-5a57-43be-bf47-7cac4893b4a2-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:253546cf-5a57-43be-bf47-7cac4893b4a21Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:a72286031997079273561Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction814.6 H1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 03, 2019BPK
ils:a72286031997079299574Severna Park Library - Nonfiction814.6 H1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 20, 2019S-PK
ils:a72286031997079253076Broadneck Library - Nonfiction814.6 H1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 24, 2019BDN
ils:a72286031997079428801Deale Library - Nonfiction814.6 H1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 14, 2020SCO
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
last_indexed2020-09-17T08:45:49.366Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl814.6 H
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Deale Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780061992704
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:c4655f49-0411-4280-b8a3-3d0a1d8fa396eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperAudio2010
overdrive:253546cf-5a57-43be-bf47-7cac4893b4a2eBookeBookEnglishDey Street Books2010
ils:a722860BookBooks1st ed.EnglishHarperColllins, 2010.xiii, 158 p. ; 19 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c4655f49-0411-4280-b8a3-3d0a1d8fa3961Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:c4655f49-0411-4280-b8a3-3d0a1d8fa396-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:253546cf-5a57-43be-bf47-7cac4893b4a2-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:253546cf-5a57-43be-bf47-7cac4893b4a21Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a72286031997079273561On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a72286031997079299574On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a72286031997079253076On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a72286031997079428801On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAdult children -- Humor
American wit and humor
Fathers and sons -- Humor
Halpern, Justin
Humorists, American -- 21st century -- Biography
title_displaySh*t my dad says
title_fullSh*t My Dad Says
Sh*t my dad says / Justin Halpern
title_shortSh*t my dad says
topic_facetAdult children
American wit and humor
Fathers and sons
Halpern, Justin
Humor (Nonfiction)
Humorists, American
Nonfiction