Counting by 7s

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.6 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
770L
Description
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now. Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101591352
9781624069031
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.6, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
770L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1fcc5824-3fe3-ea5b-e2a0-e930360d65bd
Grouping Title counting by 7s
Grouping Author goldberg sloan holly
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-19 04:47:02AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-19 04:57:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.6
author Holly Goldberg Sloan
author_display Holly Goldberg Sloan
available_at_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
display_description In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.
Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.
"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I've never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I'll never forget."—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back
"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons
"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette
format_aacpl eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_aacpl Audio Books, eBook
id 1fcc5824-3fe3-ea5b-e2a0-e930360d65bd
isbn 9781101591352, 9781624069031
item_details overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2|1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:ccf8b2cc-f955-4d2a-a64c-fbf0cfcc1e03|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:ccf8b2cc-f955-4d2a-a64c-fbf0cfcc1e03|1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_aacpl
last_indexed 2018-09-19T08:57:33.21Z
lexile_score 770
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn 9781101591352
publishDate 2013
record_details overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2013|, overdrive:ccf8b2cc-f955-4d2a-a64c-fbf0cfcc1e03|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Dreamscape Media, LLC|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ccf8b2cc-f955-4d2a-a64c-fbf0cfcc1e03 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:ccf8b2cc-f955-4d2a-a64c-fbf0cfcc1e03 1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false true
overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2 1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
title_display Counting by 7s
title_full Counting by 7s
title_short Counting by 7s
title_sub
topic_facet Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature