In-building appointments will be available beginning March 1. Contactless curbside pickup will continue.
Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Shore of Women

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Open Road Media
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description

A dystopian tale of a power struggle between the sexes in the post-nuclear future, perfect for readers of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. After a nuclear holocaust, women rule the world. Using advanced technology, they've expelled men from their vast walled cities to roam the countryside in primitive bands, bringing them back only for the purpose of loveless reproduction under the guise of powerful goddesses. When one young woman, Birana, questions her society's deception, she finds herself exiled among the very men she has been taught to scorn. She crosses paths with a hunter, Arvil, and the two grow close as they evade the ever-threatening female forces and the savage wilderness men. Their love just might mend their fractured world—if they manage to survive. Hailed as "one of the genre's best writers" by the Washington Post Book World, Pamela Sargent is the author of numerous novels, including Earthseed and Venus of Dreams. The winner of the Nebula and Locus awards, she has also coauthored several Star Trek novels with George Zebrowski.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781480497382
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID227e94f4-b4a0-4513-baab-8e7a60538657
Grouping Titleshore of women
Grouping Authorpamela sargent
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-28 04:32:07AM
Last Indexed2021-02-28 04:58:29AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorPamela Sargent
author_displayPamela Sargent
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

A dystopian tale of a power struggle between the sexes in the post-nuclear future, perfect for readers of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin.

After a nuclear holocaust, women rule the world. Using advanced technology, they've expelled men from their vast walled cities to roam the countryside in primitive bands, bringing them back only for the purpose of loveless reproduction under the guise of powerful goddesses.

When one young woman, Birana, questions her society's deception, she finds herself exiled among the very men she has been taught to scorn. She crosses paths with a hunter, Arvil, and the two grow close as they evade the ever-threatening female forces and the savage wilderness men. Their love just might mend their fractured world—if they manage to survive.

Hailed as "one of the genre's best writers" by the Washington Post Book World, Pamela Sargent is the author of numerous novels, including Earthseed and Venus of Dreams. The winner of the Nebula and Locus awards, she has also coauthored several Star Trek novels with George Zebrowski.

format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id227e94f4-b4a0-4513-baab-8e7a60538657
isbn9781480497382
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:2d8cbc17-2929-4707-87e3-1e6506bb5a211Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-02-28T09:58:29.007Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781480497382
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:2d8cbc17-2929-4707-87e3-1e6506bb5a21eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media2014
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:2d8cbc17-2929-4707-87e3-1e6506bb5a211Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Shore of Women
title_fullThe Shore of Women
title_shortThe Shore of Women
topic_facetFiction
Science Fiction