Novels and memoirs, 1941-1951

Book Cover
Average Rating
Library of America,
Pub. Date:
This Library of America volume is the first of three volumes presenting the most authoritative versions of the English works of the brilliant Russian émigré, Vladimir Nabokov. The Real Life of Sebastian Knight , the first novel Vladimir Nabokov wrote in English, published a year after he moved to the United States, is a tantalizing literary mystery in which a writer's half brother searches to unravel the enigma of the life of a famous author. A characteristically cunning play on identity and deception, this novel was published in 1941. Bend Sinister (1947), Nabokov's most explicitly political novel, is the haunting, dreamlike story of Adam Krug, a quiet philosophy professor caught up in the bureaucratic bungling of a totalitarian police state. "I am neither a didacticist nor an allegorizer," Nabokov affirms in his introduction to the novel, but goes on to state: "There can be distinguished, no doubt, certain reflections in the glass caused by idiotic and despicable regimes that we all know and that have brushed against me in the course of my life: worlds of tyranny and torture, of Fascists and Bolshevists, of Philistine thinkers and jack-booted baboons." Speak, Memory: An Autobiography Revisited (1951; revised 1966), Nabokov's dazzling memoir of his childhood in imperial Russia and exile in Europe, is central to an understanding of his art. With its balance of inner and outer worlds--of family chronicle and private fantasy, revolutions and butterflies, the games of childhood and the disasters of politics--the work that Nabokov called "a systematically correlated assemblage of personal recollections" is a haunting transmutation of life into art. The texts of this volume incorporate Nabokov's penciled corrections in his own copies of his works and correct long-standing errors. They are the most authoritative versions available and have been prepared with the assistance of Dmitri Nabokov, the novelist's son. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2c2207cc-14e2-e29e-25ad-d38ccbb48c6f
Grouping Title novels and memoirs 1941 1951
Grouping Author nabokov vladimir vladimirovich
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-02 04:47:46AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-24 04:51:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich, 1899-1977.
author_display Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich
available_at_aacpl Crofton Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Classic Titles
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 2c2207cc-14e2-e29e-25ad-d38ccbb48c6f
isbn 9781883011185
item_details ils:a112449|31997056812878|Crofton Library - Classic Titles|CLASSICS (N)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 31, 2018|CRO||
itype_aacpl Classic titles
last_indexed 2019-04-24T08:51:50.896Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl CLASSICS (N)
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library
primary_isbn 9781883011185
publishDate 1996
record_details ils:a112449|Book|Books||English|Library of America,|1996.|p. cm.
recordtype grouped_work
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a112449 31997056812878 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Library of America
series_with_volume Library of America|87
subject_facet Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich, -- 1899-1977
title_display Novels and memoirs, 1941-1951
title_full Novels and memoirs, 1941-1951 [classic] / Vladimir Nabokov
title_short Novels and memoirs, 1941-1951
topic_facet Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich