We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Stranger in the room: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Fresh from her debut, The Stranger You Seek --which Publishers Weekly called "an explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller that turns crime fiction clichés inside out"--Amanda Kyle Williams delivers a second thrilling Keye Street novel, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell. That bullet was meant for you.   Summer is smoldering through Atlanta on Fourth of July weekend, as fireworks crack through the air and steam rises from the pavement on Peachtree. Private investigator and ex-FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than a couple of quiet days alone with her boyfriend, Aaron--but, as usual, murder gets in the way.   I will find her.   A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a thirteen-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye must deal with not one but two of her own investigations: In the hills of Creeklaw County, there's a curious case involving chicken feed and a crematorium, and in Atlanta, Keye's emotionally fragile cousin Miki is convinced she is being stalked. Given Miki's history of drug abuse and mental problems, Keye is reluctant to accept her cousin's tale of a threatening man inside her house late one night. But as a recovering alcoholic herself, Keye can't exactly begrudge a woman her addictions--especially since Miki drives Keye to near-relapses at every turn. And yet, Miki is family, and Keye must help her--even if it means tempting her own demons.   I always find her.   All hell breaks loose when another murder--the apparent hanging of an elderly man--hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. And though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron's strangled teen. Is there a single faceless predator, a calculating murderer targeting his prey at random? Only a skilled profiler like Keye Street can help the A.P.D. find him. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone--and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most.   Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams's The Stranger You Seek   "An exceptionally smart and harrowing character-driven debut by a welcome new thriller writer."-- New York Times bestselling author Karin Slaughter   "A creepy, suspenseful, breathtaking ride . . . [Keye] Street is a unique and worthy addition to the rich tradition of damaged and tough private detectives."--Associated Press   "[Williams] keeps the suspense taut and the humor snarky, with an ending that will have you slapping your foreheard over clues you missed."-- The Atlanta Journal-Constitution   "With its shocking triple-twist climax, this is the best private eye debut since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War ."-- The Plain Dealer   "An explosive, unpredictable, and psychologically complex thriller."-- Publishers Weekly (starred review)   "A dark, gritty thriller, The Stranger You Seek is a sensational debut. Readers will relish this story's many captivating, powerful, and compelling layers."-- New York Times bestselling author Julia Spencer-Fleming
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553808087
9780307966902
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2c7f5700-b243-c2dc-56c1-e930cbbf1eed
Grouping Titlestranger in the room
Grouping Authoramanda kyle williams
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-18 04:16:44AM
Last Indexed2020-09-18 04:45:14AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Lee, Ann Marie.
authorWilliams, Amanda Kyle, 1957-
author2-roleBooks on Tape, Inc.
Lee, Ann Marie.|Narrator
OneClick Digital (Firm)
author_displayWilliams, Amanda Kyle
available_at_aacplGlen Burnie Library
Linthicum Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplGlen Burnie Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
Linthicum Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionTapped by the Atlanta Police Department to help solve a serial murder case involving apparently random victims, Keye Street learns that her cousin is possibly being stalked by the killer, a situation that is complicated by a grisly discovery upstate.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id2c7f5700-b243-c2dc-56c1-e930cbbf1eed
isbn9780307966902
9780553808087
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
rbdigital:rbz100026134rbz100026134RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9780307966902Available OnlineRBdigital
overdrive:c8ad3fad-a44e-44d2-bb3f-5c13eb753acf1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a95484031997081576555Linthicum Library - Adult Mystery FictionMYSTERY FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 04, 2018LIN
ils:a95484031997081576563Glen Burnie Library - Adult Mystery FictionMYSTERY FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 22, 2020NCO
itype_aacplMystery Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-18T08:45:14.475Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplMYSTERY FICTION (W)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplGlen Burnie Library
Linthicum Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780553808087
publishDate2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
rbdigital:rbz100026134eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBooks on Tape ;2012, 2012.1 sound file (13 hr., 3 min.) : digital.
overdrive:c8ad3fad-a44e-44d2-bb3f-5c13eb753acfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2012
ils:a954840BookBooks1st ed.EnglishBantam Books, c2012.308 p. ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
rbdigital:rbz100026134rbz100026134Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c8ad3fad-a44e-44d2-bb3f-5c13eb753acf1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a95484031997081576555On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a95484031997081576563On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesKeye Street
series_with_volumeKeye Street|
subject_facetDownloadable audio books
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Private investigators -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
title_displayStranger in the room : a novel
title_fullStranger in the Room
Stranger in the room : a novel / Amanda Kyle Williams
Stranger in the room [electronic resource] / Amanda Kyle Williams
title_shortStranger in the room
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
Investigation
Murder
Mystery
Private investigators
Suspense
Thriller