Curbside Plus Services will continue while in-building appointments are unavailable through at least January 31. Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Shadows

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
770L
Description
For fans of Small SpacesCoraline, A Series of Unfortunate Events, and James Howe's Bunnicula classics comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series. This house is keeping secrets . . . When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn’t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there’s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house’s spooky paintings to a world that’s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it’s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781410431394
9781101532294
9781101977446
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.1, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
770L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2cfb713e-9742-6e7f-0c86-1f5326aa342a
Grouping Titleshadows
Grouping Authorjacqueline west
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-16 04:16:43AM
Last Indexed2021-01-16 04:42:17AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780803734401

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value7
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.1
auth_author2Bernatene, Poly
authorJacqueline West
author2-roleBernatene, Polyillustrator
author_displayWest, Jacqueline
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplJUVENILE
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Children's Fiction
Glen Burnie Library - Children's Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Children's Fiction
display_descriptionFor fans of Small SpacesCoraline, A Series of Unfortunate Events, and James Howe's Bunnicula classics comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.
This house is keeping secrets . . .
When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn’t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there’s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house’s spooky paintings to a world that’s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it’s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
format_aacplLarge Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id2cfb713e-9742-6e7f-0c86-1f5326aa342a
isbn9781101532294
9781101977446
9781410431394
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:9a441495-6bdd-4171-bb64-e36e1cd4a86f-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:9a441495-6bdd-4171-bb64-e36e1cd4a86f1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a144735131997100869627Broadneck Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 11, 2019BDN
ils:a144735131997100869601Glen Burnie Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 28, 2020NCO
ils:a144735131997100869619Severna Park Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 13, 2019S-PK
itype_aacplChildren's Fiction
last_indexed2021-01-16T09:42:17.968Z
lexile_score770
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplJ FICTION (W)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9781410431394
publishDate2010
2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:9a441495-6bdd-4171-bb64-e36e1cd4a86feBookeBookEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group2011
overdrive:b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62afeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
ils:a1447351Large PrintBooksLarge print ed.EnglishThorndike Press, ©2010.267 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:9a441495-6bdd-4171-bb64-e36e1cd4a86f-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:9a441495-6bdd-4171-bb64-e36e1cd4a86f1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a144735131997100869627On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a144735131997100869601On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a144735131997100869619On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesBooks of Elsewhere
series_with_volumeBooks of Elsewhere|1
subject_facetCats -- Fiction
Dwellings -- Fiction
Large type books
Magic -- Fiction
Painting -- Fiction
Space and time -- Fiction
title_displayThe Shadows
title_fullThe Shadows
The shadows [large print] / Jacqueline West ; illustrated by Poly Bernatene
title_shortThe Shadows
topic_facetCats
Dwellings
Fantasy
Juvenile Fiction
Large type books
Magic
Painting
Space and time