We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Fatherland

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The New York Times bestselling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II--for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals, and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler's seventy-fifth birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from U.S. president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin's most prestigious suburb. But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And, with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth--a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history. Praise for Fatherland "A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense . . . Fatherland easily transcends convention." -- The Washington Post "A solid thriller, vividly imagined and genuinely frightening." -- The Atlanta Journal-Constitution "Ingenious . . . a triumph . . . suspenseful and elegant." -- San Francisco Chronicle "A dazzler . . . fast-paced . . . Historical fact is blended skillfully with fiction." -- Detroit Free Press "Absorbing . . . expertly written." -- The New York Times Book Review "Truly captivating." --Robert Ludlum "A strong premise for a police thriller with rich foreign atmosphere and political texture galore? Absolutely!" -- Entertainment Weekly "A sly and scary page-turner." -- Los Angeles Times "A well-plotted, well-written detective tale and a fascinating trek through parallel history." -- Chicago Tribune " Fatherland works on all levels. It's a triumph." -- The Washington Times "Distinguished by vivid details based on impeccable research, the thriller is a crackling-good read in the le Carré tradition." -- Time "Wonderful." -- Newsday "A gripping detective story as well as a chilling visit to the Germany that might have been. It is so plausibly written it seems quite real. Robert Harris is a name to watch for." -- BookPage
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525591436
9781405696760
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3626c5f3-5662-f07c-d893-d0f7fd596ce2
Grouping Titlefatherland
Grouping Authorrobert harris
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 04:16:55AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 04:44:42AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Jayston, Michael.
authorRobert Harris
author2-roleBooks on Tape, Inc.
Jayston, Michael.|Narrator
author_displayRobert Harris
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionThe New York Times bestselling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II—for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle
Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals, and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler's seventy-fifth birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from U.S. president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin's most prestigious suburb.
But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And, with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth—a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history.
Praise for Fatherland
"A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense . . . Fatherland easily transcends convention."The Washington Post
"A solid thriller, vividly imagined and genuinely frightening."The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
"Ingenious . . . a triumph . . . suspenseful and elegant."San Francisco Chronicle
"A dazzler . . . fast-paced . . . Historical fact is blended skillfully with fiction."Detroit Free Press
"Absorbing . . . expertly written."The New York Times Book Review
"Truly captivating."—Robert Ludlum
"A strong premise for a police thriller with rich foreign atmosphere and political texture galore? Absolutely!"Entertainment Weekly
"A sly and scary page-turner."Los Angeles Times
"A well-plotted, well-written detective tale and a fascinating trek through parallel history."Chicago Tribune
"Fatherland works on all levels. It's a triumph."The Washington Times
"Distinguished by vivid details based on impeccable research, the thriller is a crackling-good read in the le Carré tradition."Time
"Wonderful."Newsday
"A gripping detective story as well as a chilling visit to the Germany that might have been. It is so plausibly written it seems quite real. Robert Harris is a name to watch for."BookPage
format_aacpleAudiobook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
id3626c5f3-5662-f07c-d893-d0f7fd596ce2
isbn9780525591436
9781405696760
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
rbdigital:rbdZ100127096rbdZ100127096RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9780525591436Available OnlineRBdigital
overdrive:db72faf7-52ed-4cb6-880d-4078be63eab81Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:207a5545-fb7b-455e-a2b3-05a4eb26c735-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:207a5545-fb7b-455e-a2b3-05a4eb26c7351Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
last_indexed2020-09-26T08:44:42.513Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780525591436
publishDate2004
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
rbdigital:rbdZ100127096eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBooks on Tape ;2017, p2017.1 online resource.
overdrive:db72faf7-52ed-4cb6-880d-4078be63eab8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
overdrive:207a5545-fb7b-455e-a2b3-05a4eb26c735eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBBC Audio2004
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:db72faf7-52ed-4cb6-880d-4078be63eab81Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:207a5545-fb7b-455e-a2b3-05a4eb26c735-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:207a5545-fb7b-455e-a2b3-05a4eb26c7351Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAudiobooks
Downloadable audio books
FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Suspense fiction
title_displayFatherland
title_fullFatherland
Fatherland [electronic resource] / Robert Harris
title_shortFatherland
topic_facetFICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Suspense
Thriller