In-building appointments will be available beginning March 1. Contactless curbside pickup will continue.
Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Gracekeepers: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
A lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fictionAs a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future. Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780553446630
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID37816bdd-3af4-c927-19a6-615c4309435b
Grouping Titlegracekeepers
Grouping Authorkirsty logan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-25 04:16:38AM
Last Indexed2021-02-25 04:44:55AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553446616

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorLogan, Kirsty.
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayLogan, Kirsty
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionA lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fiction

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id37816bdd-3af4-c927-19a6-615c4309435b
isbn9780553446630
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e281Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a17317941731794-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-fhmerr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2021-02-25T09:44:55.475Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780553446630
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28eBookeBookEnglishCrown2015
external_econtent:ils:a1731794eBookeBookEnglishCrown, 2015.320 p.
ils:a1731794eBookeBookEnglishCrown, 2015.320 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e281Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:a17317941731794-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetElectronic books
Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology -- FICTION
Literary -- FICTION
Magical Realism -- FICTION
title_displayThe Gracekeepers A Novel
title_fullThe Gracekeepers A Novel
The Gracekeepers A Novel [eBook] Logan, Kirsty.
title_shortThe Gracekeepers
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
Fantasy
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Magical Realism
Mythology