Buffalo Nickel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
BookBaby
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781626759947
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID413ea021-a4a6-7269-d123-8345b0f5f0db
Grouping Titlebuffalo nickel
Grouping Authorc w smith
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-18 04:10:38AM
Last Indexed2019-11-18 04:16:53AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorC.W. Smith
author_displayC.W. Smith
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id413ea021-a4a6-7269-d123-8345b0f5f0db
isbn9781626759947
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2019-11-18T09:16:53.505Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781626759947
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cfeBookeBookEnglishBookBaby2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayBuffalo Nickel
title_fullBuffalo Nickel
title_shortBuffalo Nickel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Thriller