Buffalo Nickel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
BookBaby
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781626759947
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 413ea021-a4a6-7269-d123-8345b0f5f0db
Full title buffalo nickel
Author c w smith
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-25 04:46:27AM
Last Indexed 2018-05-25 04:50:57AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author C.W. Smith
author_display C.W. Smith
available_at_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

format_aacpl eBook
format_category_aacpl eBook
id 413ea021-a4a6-7269-d123-8345b0f5f0db
isbn 9781626759947
item_details overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf|1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_aacpl
last_indexed 2018-05-25T08:50:57.551Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn 9781626759947
publishDate 2013
record_details overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf|eBook|eBook||English|BookBaby|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl overdrive:c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf|1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|true||||
title_display Buffalo Nickel
title_full Buffalo Nickel
title_short Buffalo Nickel
title_sub
topic_facet Fiction, Historical Fiction, Thriller