Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Lily and Dunkin

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG+ - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
680L
Description
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." -- VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's , award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. * 2017 Southern Book Award Winner--Juvenile Category * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 * Junior Library Guild Selection * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart , and she tells their stories with compassion."-- Kirkus "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."-- Booklist, starred "Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning ."--PW "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."-- VOYA " Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different--or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring ." --Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553536751
9780451481979
9780553536768
9780553536744
Accelerated Reader:
MG+
Level 4.3, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
680L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4abc348f-3676-c938-0a19-e614c13c06e1
Grouping Titlelily and dunkin
Grouping Authordonna gephart
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-25 04:17:01AM
Last Indexed2020-11-25 04:46:35AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553536744

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG+
accelerated_reader_point_value11
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.3
auth_author2Crouch, Michael.
Gephart, Donna.
Gesell, Ryan.
authorGephart, Donna,
author2-roleCrouch, Michael.|Narrator
Gephart, Donna.|Narrator
Gesell, Ryan.|Narrator
Listening Library.
cloudLibrary
author_displayDonna Gephart
available_at_aacplBusch Annapolis Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
JUVENILE
detailed_location_aacplBusch Annapolis Library - Children's Fiction
Crofton Library - Children's Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Children's Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth-grade. Norbert Dorfman, nicknamed Dunkin Dorfman, is bipolar and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change"--
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id4abc348f-3676-c938-0a19-e614c13c06e1
isbn9780451481979
9780553536744
9780553536751
9780553536768
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
rbdigital:rbdZ100102051rbdZ100102051RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9780451481979Available OnlineRBdigital
ils:a129168531997094570413Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (G)1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 10, 2019EAN
ils:a129168531997107016040Busch Annapolis Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (G)1falsefalseOn ShelfApr 14, 2020ANN
ils:a129168531997107034373Busch Annapolis Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (G)1falsefalseOn ShelfApr 14, 2020ANN
ils:a129168531997107032856Busch Annapolis Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (G)1falsefalseOn ShelfApr 14, 2020ANN
ils:a129168531997107016057Crofton Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (G)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 14, 2020CRO
overdrive:fb715b9d-4312-4639-be9d-6acb8bf653cd1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a16322001632200-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-h9gytr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:e99927f4-3f3e-4efa-9cbf-887e9dc5b8a21Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplChildren's Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-11-25T09:46:35.071Z
lexile_score680
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
J FICTION (G)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBusch Annapolis Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780553536751
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1632200eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2016.352 p.
rbdigital:rbdZ100102051eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishListening Library ;2016, p2016.1 online resource (8 hr., 48 min.)
ils:a1291685BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishDelacorte Press, [2016]340 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:fb715b9d-4312-4639-be9d-6acb8bf653cdeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2016
external_econtent:ils:a1632200eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2016.352 p.
overdrive:e99927f4-3f3e-4efa-9cbf-887e9dc5b8a2eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a129168531997094570413On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a129168531997107016040On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a129168531997107034373On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a129168531997107032856On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a129168531997107016057On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:fb715b9d-4312-4639-be9d-6acb8bf653cd1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a16322001632200-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e99927f4-3f3e-4efa-9cbf-887e9dc5b8a21Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAdolescence -- Social Themes
Audiobooks
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
Florida -- Fiction
Florida -- Juvenile fiction
Friendship -- Fiction
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction
Friendship -- Social Themes
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
LGBT -- JUVENILE FICTION
Manic-depressive illness -- Fiction
Manic-depressive illness -- Juvenile fiction
Mental illness -- Fiction
Mental illness -- Juvenile fiction
Middle schools -- Fiction
Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction
Schools -- Fiction
Schools -- Juvenile fiction
Transgender people -- Fiction
Transgender people -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayLily and Dunkin
title_fullLily and Dunkin
Lily and Dunkin / Donna Gephart
Lily and Dunkin [eBook] Gephart, Donna.
Lily and dunkin [electronic resource] / Donna Gephart
title_shortLily and Dunkin
topic_facetAdolescence
Friendship
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
LGBT
Manic-depressive illness
Mental illness
Middle schools
Schools
Transgender people