Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.
 

The Linthicum Library will be closed from Monday, October 26 through Wednesday, November 4 for HVAC replacement. 

 

Creativity, Inc: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios--the Academy Award-winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story --comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post * Financial Times * Success * Inc. * Library Journal Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation--into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity--but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible." For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is . Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired--and so profitable. As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success--and in the thirteen movies that followed--was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as: * Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better. * If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead. * It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them. * The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them. * A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993011
9780804127479
9780679644507
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
Grouping Titlecreativity inc overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
Grouping Authored catmull
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-29 04:16:50AM
Last Indexed2020-10-29 04:43:45AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780679644507

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Wallace, Amy
Wallace, Amy, 1962-
authorCatmull, Ed.
author2-roleWallace, Amy,1962-
Wallace, Amy|Author
cloudLibrary
author_displayCatmull, Ed
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Nonfiction
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionIn 1986, Ed Catmull co-founded Pixar, a modest start-up with an immodest goal: to make the first-ever computer animated movie. Nine years later, Pixar released Toy Story, which went on to revolutionize the industry, gross $360 million, and establish Pixar as one of the most successful, innovative, and emulated companies on earth. This book details how Catmull built an enduring creative culture -- one that doesn't just pay lip service to the importance of things like honesty, communication, and originality, but committed to them, no matter how difficult that often proved to be. As he discovered, pursuing excellence isn't a one-off assignment. It's an ongoing, day-in, day-out, full-time job. And one he was born to do.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
isbn9780679644507
9780804127479
9780812993011
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14978921497892-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-d71u4z9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
ils:a123287731997089213417Broadneck Library - Nonfiction658.4 C1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 05, 2020BDN
ils:a123287731997089213425Broadneck Library - Nonfiction658.4 C1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 14, 2020BDN
ils:a123287731997089213433Odenton Library - Nonfiction658.4 C1falsefalseChecked OutFeb 29, 2020WCO
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books8falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a081Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c781Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-10-29T08:43:45.914Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl658.4 C
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780812993011
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
external_econtent:ils:a1497892eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2014.368 p.
ils:a1232877BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2014]xvi, 340 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 25 cm
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:a1497892eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2014.368 p.
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14978921497892-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:a123287731997089213417On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a123287731997089213425On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a123287731997089213433Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a081Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c781Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Business
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Leadership
Business -- BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Corporate culture
Creative ability in business
Direction & Production -- Film & Video
Electronic books
Leadership -- BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Organisationskultur
Organisationspsychologie
Organizational effectiveness
PERFORMING ARTS / Film & Video / Direction & Production
Pixar (Firm)
Pixar Animation Studios
title_displayCreativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
title_fullCreativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration / Ed Catmull ; with Amy Wallace
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration [eBook] Catmull, Ed.
title_shortCreativity, Inc
title_subOvercoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
topic_facetBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Business
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS / Leadership
Biography & Autobiography
Business
Corporate culture
Creative ability in business
Direction & Production
Leadership
Nonfiction
Organisationskultur
Organisationspsychologie
Organizational effectiveness
PERFORMING ARTS / Film & Video / Direction & Production
Performing Arts