Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

Creativity, Inc: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington PostFinancial TimesSuccessInc.Library Journal
Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780679644507
9780804127479
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
Grouping Titlecreativity inc overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
Grouping Authored catmull
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-01 04:07:46AM
Last Indexed2022-12-01 05:34:19AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Wallace, Amy
author
Catmull, Ed
author2-role
Wallace, Amy,author
cloudLibrary
author_display
Catmull, Ed
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington PostFinancial TimesSuccessInc.Library Journal
Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
format_aacpl
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
isbn
9780679644507
9780804127479
itype_aacpl
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2022-12-01T10:34:19.098Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780679644507
publishDate
2014
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Business -- BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Direction & Production -- Film & Video
Electronic books
Leadership -- BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
title_display
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
title_full
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration [eBook] Catmull, Ed,
title_short
Creativity, Inc
title_sub
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Business
Direction & Production
Leadership
Nonfiction
Performing Arts

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
external_econtent:ils:a14978921497892-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-d71u4z9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books8falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a081Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c781Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
external_econtent:ils:a1497892eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014368 pages
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2014
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14978921497892-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a081Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c781Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse