Curbside Plus Services include curbside pickup and in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Please call a library to schedule.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn on library property by anyone over the age of two.

Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

 

The Book of Joe: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2004
Language:
English
Description
Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780440334767
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID581a2cae-d92d-4c33-bf8f-da755b75a99a
Grouping Titlebook of joe
Grouping Authorjonathan tropper
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-03-03 04:16:39AM
Last Indexed2021-03-03 04:47:31AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385337410

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJonathan Tropper
author_displayJonathan Tropper
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionRight after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.
Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.
format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id581a2cae-d92d-4c33-bf8f-da755b75a99a
isbn9780440334767
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook10falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-03-03T09:47:31.25Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780440334767
publishDate2004
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0beBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2004
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Book of Joe A Novel
title_fullThe Book of Joe A Novel
title_shortThe Book of Joe
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature