Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The Book of Joe: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2004
Language:
English
Description
Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.
Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780440334767
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID581a2cae-d92d-4c33-bf8f-da755b75a99a
Grouping Titlebook of joe
Grouping Authorjonathan tropper
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-31 04:08:25AM
Last Indexed2023-01-31 04:46:52AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Tropper, Jonathan
author_display
Tropper, Jonathan
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father's had a stroke, so it's back to Bush Falls for the town's most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn't all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.
Fans of Nick Hornby and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe's success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.
format_aacpl
eBook
format_category_aacpl
eBook
id
581a2cae-d92d-4c33-bf8f-da755b75a99a
isbn
9780440334767
last_indexed
2023-01-31T09:46:52.094Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780440334767
publishDate
2004
publisher
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
The Book of Joe A Novel
title_full
The Book of Joe A Novel
title_short
The Book of Joe
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Fiction
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook10falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0beBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2004

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:90397a0c-262e-4801-a7c8-9a90ab026b0b1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue