We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Wednesday daughters: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.   It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England's pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally--one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters--had used the cottage as a writer's retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother's time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They've come to help Hope sort through her mother's personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history--one steeped in Lake District lore.   Hope finds a stack of Ally's old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally's writings--the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript--they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope's doubts about her marriage, Julie's grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page's fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally's stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past. Praise for The Wednesday Daughters   "The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton's winning follow-up to  The Wednesday Sisters . From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers' legacies, every layer of the novel delivers.  The Wednesday Daughters  is utterly rich and satisfying." --Paula McLain ,  New York Times  bestselling author of  The Paris Wife   "A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters' secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising." --J. Courtney Sullivan ,  New York Times  bestselling author of  Commencement, Maine,  and  The Engagements   "Beautiful storytelling . . . [Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and [will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned." -- RT Book Reviews " The Wednesday Daughters is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end." --Elin Hilderbrand , author of Beautiful Day   "Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters." -- Bookreporter Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by Chicago Tribune * Fort Worth Star-Telegram * San Jose Mercury News
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345530288
9781611737943
9780345538840
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5a96e918-9e91-5365-cd9e-5083155ab61d
Grouping Titlewednesday daughters
Grouping Authormeg waite clayton
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-23 20:49:29PM
Last Indexed2020-09-23 20:51:51PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorClayton, Meg Waite.
author_displayClayton, Meg Waite
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Adult Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionAlly, one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters, spent her final years in an English cottage working on a biography of Beatrix Potter. Now her daughter, Hope, and other grown daughters of the "Wednesday Sisters" travel to England to sort through Ally's personal effects. The journey leads them into family secrets and forces them to confront their own personal struggles.
format_aacplBook
Large Print
eBook
format_category_aacplBooks
eBook
id5a96e918-9e91-5365-cd9e-5083155ab61d
isbn9780345530288
9780345538840
9781611737943
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:728c6c2e-f7a4-44c0-ad0d-b2b327ef2ed5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:728c6c2e-f7a4-44c0-ad0d-b2b327ef2ed51Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:a102105131997087365250Glen Burnie Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 24, 2019NCO
ils:a102105131997087365979Broadneck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 02, 2019BDN
ils:a106218731997087481347Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Large Print Fiction and NonfictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 26, 2020EAN
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Large Print
last_indexed2020-09-24T00:51:51.438Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplFICTION (C)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780345530288
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:728c6c2e-f7a4-44c0-ad0d-b2b327ef2ed5eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:a1021051BookBooksFirst Edition.EnglishBallantine Books, 2013.291 pages ; ?c 25 cm.
ils:a1062187Large PrintBooksCenter Point Large print edition.EnglishCenter Point Large Print, 2013.391 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:728c6c2e-f7a4-44c0-ad0d-b2b327ef2ed5-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:728c6c2e-f7a4-44c0-ad0d-b2b327ef2ed51Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a102105131997087365250On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a102105131997087365979On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a106218731997087481347On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesWednesday
series_with_volumeWednesday|
subject_facetDomestic fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Female friendship -- Fiction
Lake District (England) -- Fiction
Large type books
Palo Alto (Calif.) -- Fiction
title_displayThe Wednesday daughters : a novel
title_fullThe Wednesday Daughters A Novel
The Wednesday daughters : a novel / Meg Waite Clayton
The Wednesday daughters [large print] / Meg Waite Clayton
title_shortThe Wednesday daughters
title_suba novel
topic_facetFamily secrets
Female friendship
Fiction
Large type books
Literature