Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.
 

The Linthicum Library will be closed from Monday, October 26 through Wednesday, November 4 for HVAC replacement. 

 

12.21: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon--perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.   For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.   In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.   By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life's work and to one of history's great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.   With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.   Advance praise for 12.21   "Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and  12.21  will be favorably compared to  The Andromeda Strain . Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is  very  scary but also  very  entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down."--Nelson DeMille "The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake."--Vince Flynn "A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book."-- Kirkus Reviews "Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading."--Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist "Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like."-- Publishers Weekly
Also in This Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5bdf8409-7ea2-605f-8c8a-c5c779538af9
Grouping Title12 21
Grouping Authordustin thomason
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-29 04:16:50AM
Last Indexed2020-10-29 04:43:16AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385341400

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Bearheart, Noël R.
Sanders, Fred, 1955-
authorThomason, Dustin.
author2-roleBearheart, Noël R.Narrator
Random House Audio Publishing.
Recorded Books, LLC.
Sanders, Fred,1955-Narrator
cloudLibrary
author_displayThomason, Dustin
available_at_aacplGlen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplGlen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction
Odenton Library - Audiobooks
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Severn Library - Audiobooks
Severna Park Library - Audiobooks
display_descriptionTwo weeks before the end of the world predicted by the ancient, Maya calendar, Dr. Gabriel Stanton receives a call from a hospital resident alerting him to the presence of a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, finds herself in possession of an illegal ancient artifact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This record seems to hold the answer to why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. Stanton and Manu join forces to find answers before time runs out.
format_aacplAudio CD
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
id5bdf8409-7ea2-605f-8c8a-c5c779538af9
isbn9780385341400
9780449011591
9780449011621
9780679644286
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f2441Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:a93973631997081556011Glen Burnie Library - Adult FictionFICTION (T)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 11, 2020NCO
external_econtent:ils:a14942321494232-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-eg7t89Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
ils:a97364231997084303890Odenton Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (T)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 04, 2019WCO
ils:a97364231997084303866Severna Park Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (T)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 24, 2019S-PK
ils:a97364231997084303825Severn Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (T)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 11, 2018PRO
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e11Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplAdult Audiobook on CD
Adult General Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-10-29T08:43:16.824Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacpl(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (T)
CLOUD LIBRARY
FICTION (T)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplGlen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780385341400
publishDate2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012
ils:a939736BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishThe Dial Press, [2012]326 p. : ill., maps ; 25 cm.
external_econtent:ils:a1494232eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2012.336 p.
ils:a973642Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Audio ;p2012.9 sound discs (11 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:a1494232eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2012.336 p.
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2012
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f2441Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a93973631997081556011On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14942321494232-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:a97364231997084303890On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a97364231997084303866On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a97364231997084303825On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e11Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAction & Adventure -- FICTION
Audiobooks (CD)
Communicable diseases -- Fiction
Communicable diseases -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Electronic books
Manuscripts -- Fiction
Manuscripts -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Mayas -- Antiquities -- Fiction
Mayas -- Antiquities -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Medical -- FICTION
Prophecies -- Fiction
Prophecies -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Suspense fiction
Suspense fiction. -- Audiobooks (CD)
Thrillers -- FICTION
title_display12.21 : a novel
title_full12.21 : a novel / Dustin Thomason
12.21 A Novel
12.21 A Novel [eBook] Thomason, Dustin.
12.21 [sound recording] : a novel / Dustin Thomason
title_short12.21
title_suba novel
topic_facetAction & Adventure
Antiquities
Audiobooks (CD)
Communicable diseases
Fiction
Literature
Manuscripts
Mayas
Medical
Prophecies
Thriller
Thrillers