The Eastport Library will be closed Monday, June 13 through Sunday, June 26 for new carpet installation.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

12.21: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly
Also in This Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5bdf8409-7ea2-605f-8c8a-c5c779538af9
Grouping Title12 21
Grouping Authordustin thomason
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-06-24 04:24:07AM
Last Indexed2022-06-24 04:48:11AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Bearheart, Noël R.
Sanders, Fred, 1955-
author
Thomason, Dustin
author2-role
Bearheart, Noël R.,narrator
Random House Audio Publishing
Recorded Books, LLC
Sanders, Fred,1955-narrator
cloudLibrary
author_display
Thomason, Dustin
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacpl
ADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Audiobooks
display_description
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon—perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown.
 
For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end.
 
In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands.
 
By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life’s work and to one of history’s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate.
 
With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out.
 
Advance praise for 12.21
 
“Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and 12.21 will be favorably compared to The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is very scary but also very entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.”—Nelson DeMille

“The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.”—Vince Flynn

“A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.”—Kirkus Reviews

“Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.”—Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.”—Publishers Weekly
format_aacpl
Audio CD
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
5bdf8409-7ea2-605f-8c8a-c5c779538af9
isbn
9780449011591
9780449011621
9780679644286
itype_aacpl
Adult Audiobook on CD
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2022-06-24T08:48:11.051Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CD FICTION (T)
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn
9780679644286
publishDate
2012
publisher
Distributed by Recorded Books
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Audio
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Action & Adventure -- Fiction
Audiobooks (CD)
Communicable diseases -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Electronic books
Manuscripts -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Mayas -- Antiquities -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Medical -- Fiction
Prophecies -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Thrillers (Fiction) -- Audiobooks (CD)
Thrillers -- Fiction
title_display
12.21 A Novel
title_full
12.21 A Novel
12.21 A Novel [eBook] Thomason, Dustin,
12.21 [sound recording] : a novel / Dustin Thomason
title_short
12.21
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Action & Adventure
Antiquities
Audiobooks (CD)
Communicable diseases
Fiction
Literature
Manuscripts
Mayas
Medical
Prophecies
Thriller
Thrillers

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f2441Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14942321494232-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-eg7t89Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
ils:a97364231997084303866Severna Park Library - AudiobooksCD FICTION (T)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 08, 2021S-PK
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e11Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012
external_econtent:ils:a1494232eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012336 pages
ils:a973642Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishDistributed by Recorded Booksp20129 audio discs (11 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2012

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f244-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:889e00bd-fd52-43c1-b36a-5d0efc85f2441Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14942321494232-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:a97364231997084303866On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e1-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:df445284-490e-474f-bd3a-79c4851ad2e11Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue