Learning to breathe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster BFYR,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 640L
Description
Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr. Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy's rules--to study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn't always been easy, especially while living in her mother's shadow. When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps she's found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof--it's about the people she chooses to share it with.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781534406018
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 640L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5c84d8f7-503c-3e00-dac0-574bf0f05743
Grouping Title learning to breathe
Grouping Author mather janice lynn
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-10 04:47:28AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-20 04:43:11AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Mather, Janice Lynn,
author_display Mather, Janice Lynn
collection_aacpl YA
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Young Adult Fiction, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Young Adult Fiction, Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction, Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction, Severna Park Library - Young Adult Fiction
display_description Sixteen-year-old Indy, sent to live with relatives in Nassau, struggles to conceal that she is pregnant by rape. Turned out by her aunt, completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. A yoga retreat might be the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is more just four walls and a roof-- it's the people she chooses to share it with. -- adapted from amazon.com.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 5c84d8f7-503c-3e00-dac0-574bf0f05743
isbn 9781534406018
item_details ils:a1446821|31997100995307|Crofton Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (M)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||CRO||, ils:a1446821|31997100995315|Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (M)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||WCO||, ils:a1446821|31997100995323|Severna Park Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (M)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||S-PK||, ils:a1446821|31997100995513|Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (M)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||NCO||, ils:a1446821|31997100995539|Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (M)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||EAN||
itype_aacpl Young Adult Fiction
last_indexed 2018-08-20T08:43:11.322Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 640
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl Y FICTION (M)
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library, Glen Burnie Library, Odenton Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9781534406018
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1446821|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Simon & Schuster BFYR,|[2018]|328 pages ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1446821 31997100995315 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1446821 31997100995539 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1446821 31997100995323 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1446821 31997100995307 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1446821 31997100995513 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
subject_facet Caribbean Area -- Fiction, Families -- Caribbean Area -- Fiction, Family life -- Caribbean Area -- Fiction, Homeless persons -- Fiction, Nassau (Bahamas) -- Fiction, Novels, Pregnancy -- Fiction, Rape -- Fiction, Rape victims -- Fiction, Teenage girls -- Fiction, Yoga -- Fiction, Young adult fiction, Young adult literature
title_display Learning to breathe
title_full Learning to breathe / Janice Lynn Mather
title_short Learning to breathe
topic_facet Families, Family life, Homeless persons, Pregnancy, Rape, Rape victims, Teenage girls, Yoga, Young adult fiction, Young adult literature