Returned items are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not applied while items are in quarantine.

Learning to breathe

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster BFYR,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 640L
Description
A 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection Amelia Bloomer List 's 2019 Top Ten Recommended Feminist Books for Young Readers A Governor General's Literary Award Finalist A Junior Library Guild Selection A Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize Semifinalist A BC Book Prize Finalist "A love letter to girls--bittersweet and full of hope." --Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street "This is a stellar debut." --Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe "A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one's family." --Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning Charm & Strange "A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read." --Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Allegedly "Poetic." --Angela Johnson, award-winning author of Heaven "A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become." -- Kirkus Reviews "This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics...a stirring debut." -- School Library Journal (starred review) Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr. Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy's rules--study hard in school, be respectful, and never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn't always been easy, especially living in her mother's shadow. When Indy is sent to stay in Nassau, trouble follows her and she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if she's found that place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof--it's about the people she chooses to share it with.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781534406018
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.3, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 640L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5c84d8f7-503c-3e00-dac0-574bf0f05743
Grouping Titlelearning to breathe
Grouping Authormather janice lynn
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-04-15 04:10:13AM
Last Indexed2020-07-09 04:23:44AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value11
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.3
authorMather, Janice Lynn
author_displayMather, Janice Lynn
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
collection_aacplYA
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Young Adult Fiction
Crofton Library - Young Adult Fiction
Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction
Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction
display_descriptionSixteen-year-old Indy, sent to live with relatives in Nassau, struggles to conceal that she is pregnant by rape. Turned out by her aunt, completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. A yoga retreat might be the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is more just four walls and a roof-- it's the people she chooses to share it with. -- adapted from amazon.com.
format_aacplBook
format_category_aacplBooks
id5c84d8f7-503c-3e00-dac0-574bf0f05743
isbn9781534406018
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a144682131997100995315Broadneck Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (M)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 09, 2019BDN
ils:a144682131997100995513Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (M)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 04, 2019NCO
ils:a144682131997100995307Odenton Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (M)1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 25, 2019WCO
ils:a144682131997100995323Crofton Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (M)1falsefalseChecked OutMar 14, 2020CRO
itype_aacplYoung Adult Fiction
last_indexed2020-07-09T08:23:44.155Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score640
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplY FICTION (M)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Crofton Library
Glen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
primary_isbn9781534406018
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1446821BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishSimon & Schuster BFYR, [2018]328 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a144682131997100995315On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a144682131997100995513On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a144682131997100995307On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a144682131997100995323Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetCaribbean Area -- Fiction
Families -- Caribbean Area -- Fiction
Family life -- Caribbean Area -- Fiction
Homeless persons -- Fiction
Nassau (Bahamas) -- Fiction
Novels
Pregnancy -- Fiction
Rape -- Fiction
Rape victims -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Yoga -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
Young adult literature
title_displayLearning to breathe
title_fullLearning to breathe / Janice Lynn Mather
title_shortLearning to breathe
topic_facetFamilies
Family life
Homeless persons
Pregnancy
Rape
Rape victims
Teenage girls
Yoga
Young adult fiction
Young adult literature