Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Books of Faerie volume 1.
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER

"Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel."
Publishers Weekly
(starred review)

"This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin's Impossible and Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series."
Booklist
(starred review)

"Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life."
—KLIATT (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . .

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

 

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780738722290
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6452dda8-214b-d66d-70d0-74edc8b5f17b
Grouping Titlelament the faerie queens deception
Grouping Authormaggie stiefvater
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-06-27 04:07:47AM
Last Indexed2022-06-27 04:47:24AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Stiefvater, Maggie, 1981-
author2-role
cloudLibrary
author_display
Stiefvater, Maggie
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING NOVEL SHIVER

"Vibrant and potent, YA readers searching for faerie stories will be happy to find this accomplished debut novel."
Publishers Weekly
(starred review)

"This beautiful and out-of-the-ordinary debut novel, with its authentic depiction of Celtic Faerie lore and dangerous forbidden love in a contemporary American setting, will appeal to readers of Nancy Werlin's Impossible and Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series."
Booklist
(starred review)

"Part adventure, part fantasy, and wholly riveting love story, Lament will delight nearly all audiences with its skillful blend of magic and ordinary life."
—KLIATT (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand—one who can see faeries. Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban life, seemingly out of thin air. Trouble is, the enigmatic and gorgeous Luke turns out to be a gallowglass—a soulless faerie assassin. An equally hunky—and equally dangerous—dark faerie soldier named Aodhan is also stalking Deirdre. Sworn enemies, Luke and Aodhan each have a deadly assignment from the Faerie Queen. Namely, kill Deirdre before her music captures the attention of the Fae and threatens the Queen's sovereignty. Caught in the crossfire with Deirdre is James, her wisecracking but loyal best friend. Deirdre had been wishing her life weren't so dull, but getting trapped in the middle of a centuries-old faerie war isn't exactly what she had in mind . . .

Lament is a dark faerie fantasy that features authentic Celtic faerie lore, plus cover art and interior illustrations by acclaimed faerie artist Julia Jeffrey.

 

format_aacpl
eBook
format_category_aacpl
eBook
id
6452dda8-214b-d66d-70d0-74edc8b5f17b
isbn
9780738722290
itype_aacpl
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2022-06-27T08:47:24.983Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780738722290
publishDate
2010
publisher
Flux
Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Books of Faerie
series_with_volume
Books of Faerie|1
subject_facet
Electronic books
Fairies -- Fiction
Fantasy fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Musicians -- Fiction
Paranormal fiction
Supernatural -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_display
Lament The Faerie Queen's Deception
title_full
Lament : the faerie queen's deception [eBook] / Maggie Stiefvater
Lament The Faerie Queen's Deception
title_short
Lament
title_sub
The Faerie Queen's Deception
topic_facet
Fairies
Fantasy
Magic
Musicians
Supernatural
Young Adult Fiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:434959ee-c209-4505-8eee-53b9468d8dd0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:434959ee-c209-4505-8eee-53b9468d8dd01Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a17318651731865-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-kohgf89Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:434959ee-c209-4505-8eee-53b9468d8dd0eBookeBookEnglishLlewellyn Worldwide, LTD2010
external_econtent:ils:a1731865eBookeBookEnglishFlux©20101 online resource (ix, 325 pages) : illustrations

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:434959ee-c209-4505-8eee-53b9468d8dd0-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:434959ee-c209-4505-8eee-53b9468d8dd01Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a17318651731865-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue