The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books : Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Description
In the tradition of Stephen Greenblatt's The Swerve and Dava Sobel's Galileo's Daughter , a vividly rendered account of the forgotten quest by Christopher Columbus's son to create the greatest library in the world--"a perfectly pitched poetic drama" ( Financial Times ) and an amazing tour through 16th century Europe. The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books tells the story of the first and greatest visionary of the print age, a man who saw how the explosive expansion of knowledge and information generated by the advent of the printing press would entirely change the landscape of thought and society. He also happened to be Christopher Columbus's illegitimate son. At the peak of the Age of Exploration, while his father sailed across the ocean to explore the boundaries of the known world, Hernando Colón sought to surpass Columbus's achievements by building a library that would encompass the world and include "all books, in all languages and on all subjects." In service of this vision, he spent his life travelling--first to the New World with his father in 1502, surviving through shipwreck and a bloody mutiny off the coast of Jamaica, and later, throughout Europe, scouring the bookstores of the day at the epicenter of printing. The very model of a Renaissance man, Hernando restlessly and obsessively bought thousands and thousands of books, amassing a collection based on the modern conviction that a truly great library should include the kind of material dismissed as ephemeral trash: ballads, pornography, newsletters, popular images, romances, fables. Using an invented system of hieroglyphs, he meticulously catalogued every item in his library, devising the first ever search engine for his rich profusion of books and images and music. A major setback in 1522 gave way to the creation of Hernando's Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books and inspired further refinements to his library, including a design for the first modern bookshelves. In this illuminating and brilliantly researched biography, Edward Wilson-Lee tells an enthralling story of the life and times of the first genius of the print age, a tale with striking lessons for our own modern experiences of information revolution and globalization.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781982111397
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 64aaf065-663b-9901-1723-809d6a9d07ba
Grouping Title catalogue of shipwrecked books christopher columbus his son and the quest to build the worlds greate
Grouping Author wilson lee edward
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-02-01 04:37:07AM
Last Indexed 2019-02-19 04:43:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Wilson-Lee, Edward
author_display Wilson-Lee, Edward
detailed_location_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library On Order
display_description
format_aacpl On Order
format_category_aacpl
id 64aaf065-663b-9901-1723-809d6a9d07ba
isbn 9781982111397
item_details ils:a1562935|a1562935|Anne Arundel County Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|On Order||1|true|false|||||On Order||aacpl||
itype_aacpl
last_indexed 2019-02-19T09:43:14.116Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl ON ORDER
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Day, Month, On Order, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library On Order
primary_isbn 9781982111397
record_details ils:a1562935|Book||||||
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1562935 a1562935 On Order On Order false false true false false true
title_display The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books : Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library
title_full The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books : Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library Wilson-Lee, Edward
title_short The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books : Christopher Columbus, His Son, and the Quest to Build the World's Greatest Library