All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn on library property by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

Before I met you: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"Lisa Jewell leaves the chick-lit tag firmly behind with Before I Met You, a poignant story about a young woman uncovering her grandmother's bohemian life in 1920s London—and finding her own place in the world in the process."—Good Housekeeping (UK) "Jewell's moving novel immerses readers in the lives of these unique characters through the universal themes of family and a search for belonging...a compelling and entertaining novel." —Publishers Weekly Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.After her grandmother Arlette's death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs—all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age—in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in '90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She's ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . . In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life. As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man—a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette's past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present? A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781476702940
9781974904013
9781476702957
9781470395131
9781471224782
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6b4a526c-4159-14a6-f468-9b94b60dff5a
Grouping Titlebefore i met you
Grouping Authorlisa jewell
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-04-16 04:25:54AM
Last Indexed2021-04-16 04:44:01AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781476702940

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Collingwood, Jane
authorLisa Jewell
author2-roleCollingwood, JaneNarrator
Recorded Books, LLC.
W.F. Howes, Ltd.
cloudLibrary
author_displayLisa Jewell
available_at_aacplLinthicum Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Audiobooks
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Audiobooks
Linthicum Library - Audiobooks
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Lisa Jewell leaves the chick-lit tag firmly behind with Before I Met You, a poignant story about a young woman uncovering her grandmother's bohemian life in 1920s London—and finding her own place in the world in the process."—Good Housekeeping (UK)

"Jewell's moving novel immerses readers in the lives of these unique characters through the universal themes of family and a search for belonging...a compelling and entertaining novel." —Publishers Weekly


Jazz Age London, a passionate and forbidden interracial romance, and the unbreakable bond between a bright young woman and her eccentric grandmother come together brilliantly in this gem of a novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Then She Was Gone, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Twenties Girl, and The Chaperone.
After her grandmother Arlette's death, Betty is finally ready to begin her life. She had forfeited university, parties, boyfriends, summer jobs—all the usual preoccupations of a woman her age—in order to care for Arlette in their dilapidated, albeit charming home on the English island of Guernsey. Her will included a beneficiary unknown to Betty and her family, a woman named Clara Pickle who presumably could be found at a London address. Now, having landed on a rather shabby street corner in '90s Soho, Betty is determined to find the mysterious Clara. She's ready for whatever life has to throw her way. Or so she thinks . . .

In 1920s bohemian London, Arlette De La Mare is starting her new life in a time of postwar change. Beautiful and charismatic, she is soon drawn into the hedonistic world of the Bright Young People. But two years after her arrival in London, tragedy strikes and she flees back to her childhood home and remains there for the rest of her life.

As Betty navigates the ups and downs of city life and begins working as a nanny for a rock star tabloid magnet, her search for Clara leads her to a man—a stranger to Betty, but someone who meant the world to her grandmother. Will the secrets of Arlette's past help Betty find her own way to happiness in the present?

A rich detective story and a captivating look at London then and now, Before I Met You is an unforgettable novel about two very different women, separated by seventy years, but united by big hearts and even bigger dreams.
format_aacplAudio CD
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
id6b4a526c-4159-14a6-f468-9b94b60dff5a
isbn9781470395131
9781471224782
9781476702940
9781476702957
9781974904013
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:63fb862c-a440-433d-85ba-c3440ed062071Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:a106550131997084389956Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (J)1falsefalseIn TransitMar 11, 2021EAN
ils:a106550131997084389881Linthicum Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (J)1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 31, 2021LIN
ils:a106550131997084389931Broadneck Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (J)1falsefalseChecked OutApr 14, 2021BDN
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:4ea5bc0b-fb6c-47d7-a34c-02c8bcdfd0251Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1000000falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a17007101700710-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-do2poz9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
itype_aacplAdult Audiobook on CD
Electronic Book
last_indexed2021-04-16T08:44:01.307Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacpl(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (J)
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Linthicum Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781476702940
publishDate2013
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:63fb862c-a440-433d-85ba-c3440ed06207eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishDreamscape Media, LLC2018
ils:a1065501Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishW.F. Howes, Ltd. ;[2013], p2012.13 sound discs (15 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efaeBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2013
ils:a1056327BookBooksFirst Atria Paperback edition.EnglishAtria Paperback, 2013.435 pages ; 21 cm
ils:a1700710eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books, 2013.448 p.
overdrive:4ea5bc0b-fb6c-47d7-a34c-02c8bcdfd025eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishW F Howes2018
external_econtent:ils:a1700710eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books, 2013.448 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:63fb862c-a440-433d-85ba-c3440ed062071Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a106550131997084389956Checked OutIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a106550131997084389881On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a106550131997084389931Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:84e4b1ff-7fa2-4d9b-831a-7ea8a6e71efa-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4ea5bc0b-fb6c-47d7-a34c-02c8bcdfd0251Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a17007101700710-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAudiobooks (CD)
Contemporary Women -- FICTION
Electronic books
Family secrets -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Historical -- FICTION
Historical fiction
Historical fiction. -- Audiobooks (CD)
London (England) -- Fiction
London (England) -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Romance -- FICTION
Romantic suspense fiction
Romantic suspense fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
title_displayBefore I met you : a novel
title_fullBefore I Met You
Before I Met You A Novel
Before I Met You A Novel [eBook] Jewell, Lisa.
Before I met you : a novel / Lisa Jewell
Before I met you [sound recording] / Lisa Jewell
title_shortBefore I met you
title_subA Novel
topic_facetAudiobooks (CD)
Contemporary Women
Family secrets
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Literature
Nineteen twenties
Romance