Hacking Darwin: genetic engineering and the future of humanity

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Sourcebooks,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Language:
English
Description

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." -- Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All MaladiesandThe Gene

Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deusand The Gene.

After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules...

From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives -- sex, war, love, and death.

At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race.

Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781492670094
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6dd6e731-04ac-7f7f-a8e7-a40bd2a032d3
Grouping Titlehacking darwin genetic engineering and the future of humanity
Grouping Authormetzl jamie frederic
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-25 04:11:54AM
Last Indexed2019-12-11 04:16:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMetzl, Jamie Frederic,
author_displayMetzl, Jamie Frederic
available_at_aacplOdenton Library
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplCrofton Library - Nonfiction
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_descriptionFrom leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we? Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.
format_aacplBook
format_category_aacplBooks
id6dd6e731-04ac-7f7f-a8e7-a40bd2a032d3
isbn9781492670094
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a157731531997096546742Severna Park Library - Nonfiction576.5 M1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 26, 2019S-PK
ils:a157731531997096546734Odenton Library - Nonfiction576.5 M1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 28, 2019WCO
ils:a157731531997096546718Odenton Library - Nonfiction576.5 M1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 01, 2019WCO
ils:a157731531997096546700Crofton Library - Nonfiction576.5 M1falsefalseChecked OutNov 24, 2019CRO
ils:a157731531997096546726Severna Park Library - Nonfiction576.5 M1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 26, 2019S-PK
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
last_indexed2019-12-11T09:16:50.512Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl576.5 M
local_time_since_added_aacplYear
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacplCrofton Library
Odenton Library
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9781492670094
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1577315BookBooksEnglishSourcebooks, [2019]xxiii, 326 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a157731531997096546742On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a157731531997096546734On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a157731531997096546718On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a157731531997096546700Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a157731531997096546726On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetGenetic engineering -- Moral and ethical aspects
Human genetics
title_displayHacking Darwin : genetic engineering and the future of humanity
title_fullHacking Darwin : genetic engineering and the future of humanity / Jamie Metzl
title_shortHacking Darwin
title_subgenetic engineering and the future of humanity
topic_facetGenetic engineering
Human genetics
Moral and ethical aspects