Hacking Darwin: genetic engineering and the future of humanity

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Sourcebooks,
Pub. Date:
[2019]
Language:
English
Description

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." -- Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All MaladiesandThe Gene

Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deusand The Gene.

After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules...

From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives -- sex, war, love, and death.

At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race.

Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781492670094
149267009
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6dd6e731-04ac-7f7f-a8e7-a40bd2a032d3
Grouping Title hacking darwin genetic engineering and the future of humanity
Grouping Author metzl jamie frederic
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-19 04:46:42AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-19 04:50:53AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Metzl, Jamie Frederic,
author_display Metzl, Jamie Frederic
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Nonfiction, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction, Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction, Odenton Library - Nonfiction, Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_description From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we? Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 6dd6e731-04ac-7f7f-a8e7-a40bd2a032d3
isbn 149267009, 9781492670094
item_details ils:a1577315|31997096546700|Crofton Library - Nonfiction|576.5 M|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 18, 2019|CRO||, ils:a1577315|31997096546718|Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction|576.5 M|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 18, 2019|EAN||, ils:a1577315|31997096546726|Severna Park Library - Nonfiction|576.5 M|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 01, 2019|S-PK||, ils:a1577315|31997096546734|Odenton Library - Nonfiction|576.5 M|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 15, 2019|WCO||, ils:a1577315|31997096546742|Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction|576.5 M|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 08, 2019|NCO||
itype_aacpl Adult Nonfiction
last_indexed 2019-05-19T08:50:53.664Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl 576.5 M
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library, Glen Burnie Library, Odenton Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9781492670094
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:a1577315|Book|Books||English|Sourcebooks,|[2019]|xxiii, 326 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1577315 31997096546700 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1577315 31997096546734 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1577315 31997096546742 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1577315 31997096546718 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1577315 31997096546726 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet Genetic engineering -- Moral and ethical aspects, Human genetics
title_display Hacking Darwin : genetic engineering and the future of humanity
title_full Hacking Darwin : genetic engineering and the future of humanity / Jamie Metzl
title_short Hacking Darwin :
title_sub genetic engineering and the future of humanity
topic_facet Genetic engineering, Human genetics, Moral and ethical aspects