The secret of platform 13

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Dutton Children's Books,
Pub. Date:
1998.
Edition:
1st American ed.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.8 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
910L
Description
A hilarious fantasy for fans of Carroll, Nesbit, and Barrie!In the British tradition of comic fantasies, here is a wildly witty caper that would make Lewis Carroll laugh and E. Nesbit snicker.A forgotten door on an abandoned railway platform is the entrance to a magical kingdom -an island where humans live happily with feys, mermaids, ogres, and other wonderful creatures. Carefully hidden from the world, the Island is only accessible when the door opens for nine days every nine years. A lot can go wrong in nine days. When the beastly Mrs. Trottle kidnaps the prince of the Island, it's up to a strange band of rescuers to save him. But can an ogre, a hag, a wizard, and a fey really troop around London unnoticed? In a plot thick with mayhem, mix-ups, and magic, there is something to please all. Fantasy lovers in particular will not want to miss this peek through the door of Platform 13 into the imagination of a deliciously clever writer.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780141302867
9780525459293
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.8, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
910L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6e690bf3-48b0-6218-7ee1-3632da320e96
Grouping Title secret of platform 13
Grouping Author ibbotson eva
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-11 04:47:18AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-19 04:54:00AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 7
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.8
auth_author2 Porter, Sue
author Ibbotson, Eva.
author2-role Porter, Sueill.
author_display Ibbotson, Eva
available_at_aacpl Severna Park Library
collection_aacpl JUVENILE
detailed_location_aacpl Broadneck Library - Children's Fiction, Severna Park Library - Children's Fiction
display_description Odge Gribble, a young hag, accompanies an old wizard, a gentle fey, and a giant ogre on their mission through a magical tunnel from their Island to London to rescue their King and Queen's son who had been stolen as an infant.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 6e690bf3-48b0-6218-7ee1-3632da320e96
isbn 9780141302867, 9780525459293
item_details ils:a134389|31997058393190|Severna Park Library - Children's Fiction|J FICTION (I)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Apr 19, 2018|S-PK||, ils:a134389|31997062194170|Broadneck Library - Children's Fiction|J FICTION (I)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Jul 10, 2018|BDN||
itype_aacpl Children's Fiction
last_indexed 2018-07-19T08:54:00.718Z
lexile_score 910
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl J FICTION (I)
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Broadneck Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9780141302867
publishDate 1998
record_details ils:a134389|Book|Books|1st American ed.|English|Dutton Children's Books,|1998.|231 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a134389 31997062194170 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a134389 31997058393190 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Fairy tales -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The secret of platform 13
title_full The secret of platform 13 / Eva Ibbotson ; illustrated by Sue Porter
title_short The secret of platform 13
topic_facet Fairy tales