We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

We need to talk about Kevin: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Counterpoint
Pub. Date:
2011
Language:
English
Description

A stunning examination of how tragedy affects a town, a marriage, and a family, for readers of Rosellen Brown's Before and After and Jane Hamilton's A Map of the World . That neither nature nor nurture bears exclusive responsibility for a child's character is self-evident. But such generalizations provide cold comfort when it's your own son who's just opened fire on his fellow students and whose class photograph--with its unseemly grin--is blown up on the national news.The question of who's to blame for teenage atrocity tortures our narrator, Eva Khatchadourian. Two years ago, her son, Kevin, murdered seven of his fellow high-school students, a cafeteria worker, and a popular algebra teacher. Because he was only fifteen at the time of the killings, he received a lenient sentence and is now in a prison for young offenders in upstate New York.Telling the story of Kevin's upbringing, Eva addresses herself to her estranged husband through a series of letters. Fearing that her own shortcomings may have shaped what her son has become, she confesses to a deep, long-standing ambivalence about both motherhood in general and Kevin in particular. How much is her fault? We Need to Talk About K

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781582432670
9781582438870
9780061124297
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID72bd6916-a9dd-69fd-c73d-a792cb1541f4
Grouping Titlewe need to talk about kevin
Grouping Authorlionel shriver
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 04:16:46AM
Last Indexed2020-09-19 04:43:36AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781582432670

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorShriver, Lionel.
author_displayShriver, Lionel
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description"Eva never really wanted to be a mother -- and certainly not the mother of the unlovable boy who murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker, and a much-adored teacher who tried to befriend him, all two days before his sixteenth birthday. Now, two years later, it is time for her to come to terms with marriage, career, family, parenthood, and Kevin's horrific rampage in a series of startlingly direct correspondences with her estranged husband, Franklyn. Uneasy with the sacrifices and social demotion of motherhood from the start, Eva fears that her alarming dislike for her own son may be responsible for driving him so nihilistically off the rails."--Cover, p. [4].
format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id72bd6916-a9dd-69fd-c73d-a792cb1541f4
isbn9780061124297
9781582432670
9781582438870
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:348cd7a3-028f-4562-856d-aba5eb1a39621Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:348cd7a3-028f-4562-856d-aba5eb1a3962-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook6falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
last_indexed2020-09-19T08:43:36.037Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781582432670
publishDate2003
2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a232581BookBooksEnglishCounterpoint, c2003.400 p. : 24 cm.
overdrive:348cd7a3-028f-4562-856d-aba5eb1a3962eBookeBookEnglishCounterpoint2011
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:348cd7a3-028f-4562-856d-aba5eb1a39621Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:348cd7a3-028f-4562-856d-aba5eb1a3962-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetEpistolary fiction
High schools -- Fiction
Massacres -- Fiction
New York (State) -- Fiction
Teenage boys -- Fiction
title_displayWe need to talk about Kevin : a novel
title_fullWe Need to Talk About Kevin
We need to talk about Kevin : a novel / Lionel Shriver
title_shortWe need to talk about Kevin
title_suba novel
topic_facetFiction
High schools
Literature
Massacres
Teenage boys