Ponti

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Edition:
First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Language:
English
Description
An award-winning fiction debut about the value of friendships in present-day Singapore--a surprising and powerful portrait of Asia that shows the unique blend of modern and traditional cultures coming together--for fans of Elena Ferrante and Emma Cline. "I am Miss Frankenstein, I am the bottom of the bell curve." So declares Szu, a teenager living in a dark, dank house on a Singapore cul-de-sac, at the beginning of this richly atmospheric and endlessly surprising tale of non-belonging and isolation. Friendless and fatherless, Szu lives in the shadow of her mother Amisa, once a beautiful actress--who gained fame for her portrayal of a ghost--and now a hack medium performing séances with her sister in a rusty house. When Szu meets the privileged, acid-tongued Circe, an unlikely encounter develops into a fraught friendship that will haunt them both for decades to come. With remarkable emotional acuity, dark comedy, and in vivid prose, Sharlene Teo's Ponti traces the suffocating tangle the lives of four misfits, women who need each other as much as they need to find their own way. It is an astounding portrayal of the gaping loneliness of adolescence, the surrealness of the modern city, and the strangeness of living with and loving other people.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781501173110
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 77a625e2-3cd5-5f72-4ae7-e38846a47c02
Grouping Title ponti
Grouping Author teo sharlene
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-11 04:37:31AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-15 04:47:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Teo, Sharlene,
author_display Teo, Sharlene
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl LIbrary Headquarters - Adult Fiction
display_description "A refreshing and riveting story of female friendship set in Singapore--a surprising and powerful portrait of modern Asia" --
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 77a625e2-3cd5-5f72-4ae7-e38846a47c02
isbn 9781501173110
item_details ils:a1465157|31997101943744|LIbrary Headquarters - Adult Fiction|FICTION (T)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||Z-HQ||, ils:a1465157|31997101943751|LIbrary Headquarters - Adult Fiction|FICTION (T)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||Z-HQ||, ils:a1465157|31997101943769|LIbrary Headquarters - Adult Fiction|FICTION (T)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||Z-HQ||
itype_aacpl Adult General Fiction
last_indexed 2018-10-15T08:47:14.784Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl FICTION (T)
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Week, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
primary_isbn 9781501173110
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1465157|Book|Books|First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.|English|Simon & Schuster,|2018.|294 pages ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1465157 31997101943751 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1465157 31997101943769 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1465157 31997101943744 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
subject_facet Female friendship -- Fiction, Novels, Psychological fiction, Singapore -- Fiction
title_display Ponti
title_full Ponti / Sharlene Teo
title_short Ponti
topic_facet Female friendship