In-building appointments will be available beginning March 1. Contactless curbside pickup will continue.
Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Ghost Shift: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Gorky Park, John Gappers new thriller takes readers inside the secretive and dangerous world of modern China, as a young woman makes a haunting discovery—one that forces her to choose between duty to her government and a desperate desire to learn the truth about herself.   This wasn’t just a body in a field. The corpse’s shape was hers—same length, same curves. Then she knew, and everything else receded to nothingness. All she could see was a woman with the same nose, the same eyes, and the same face.   Her twin.   As an up-and-coming agent of the Commission for Discipline Inspection, Song Mei probes political corruption, not mysterious deaths. But that changes when she arrives on the scene of a grim police investigation and is confronted with a crime—and a victim—impossible to ignore. Despite strict orders and threats from superiors, Mei knows she can not turn away.   Breaking protocol, Mei undertakes a covert search for the truth about the mystery woman’s death—and life—by following in her footsteps from a factory plagued by worker suicides to a luxury hotel dealing in high-end escorts to an American home haunted by tragedy. But when Mei crosses paths with an ex–CIA operative on a shadowy mission of his own, her personal quest takes a jarring turn into political and industrial espionage that pits both agents against the highest ranks of communism and capitalism.   Praise for John Gapper’s A Fatal Debt   “Rarely does one read a first novel so self-assured, sharp, and compelling. It takes off like a rocket and doesn’t stop until its explosive conclusion.”—Joseph Finder, author of Suspicion   “An enlightening and grisly tale . . . tightly plotted and fast-paced.”—The New Yorker   “An ingenious thriller about the ruthless world of high finance.”The Washington Post   “A fast-paced book that should entertain finance aficionados and fans of detective fiction alike.”Fortune   “A neatly crafted and well-written thriller . . . an audacious, assured debut.”—David Ignatius, author of Bloodmoney   “[Gapper] knows when to put his foot on the narrative accelerator.”—Financial Times   “Intriguing . . . suspenseful . . . a web of deceit and betrayal.”Booklist
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345527943
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID799417bb-d092-132b-a9ac-dd28674d736a
Grouping Titleghost shift
Grouping Authorjohn gapper
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-27 04:21:06AM
Last Indexed2021-02-27 04:48:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780345527929

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJohn Gapper
author_displayJohn Gapper
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionIn the tradition of Gorky Park, John Gappers new thriller takes readers inside the secretive and dangerous world of modern China, as a young woman makes a haunting discovery—one that forces her to choose between duty to her government and a desperate desire to learn the truth about herself.
 
This wasn’t just a body in a field. The corpse’s shape was hers—same length, same curves. Then she knew, and everything else receded to nothingness. All she could see was a woman with the same nose, the same eyes, and the same face.
 
Her twin.
 
As an up-and-coming agent of the Commission for Discipline Inspection, Song Mei probes political corruption, not mysterious deaths. But that changes when she arrives on the scene of a grim police investigation and is confronted with a crime—and a victim—impossible to ignore. Despite strict orders and threats from superiors, Mei knows she can not turn away.
 
Breaking protocol, Mei undertakes a covert search for the truth about the mystery woman’s death—and life—by following in her footsteps from a factory plagued by worker suicides to a luxury hotel dealing in high-end escorts to an American home haunted by tragedy. But when Mei crosses paths with an ex–CIA operative on a shadowy mission of his own, her personal quest takes a jarring turn into political and industrial espionage that pits both agents against the highest ranks of communism and capitalism.
 
Praise for John Gapper’s A Fatal Debt
 
“Rarely does one read a first novel so self-assured, sharp, and compelling. It takes off like a rocket and doesn’t stop until its explosive conclusion.”—Joseph Finder, author of Suspicion
 
“An enlightening and grisly tale . . . tightly plotted and fast-paced.”—The New Yorker
 
“An ingenious thriller about the ruthless world of high finance.”The Washington Post
 
“A fast-paced book that should entertain finance aficionados and fans of detective fiction alike.”Fortune
 
“A neatly crafted and well-written thriller . . . an audacious, assured debut.”—David Ignatius, author of Bloodmoney
 
“[Gapper] knows when to put his foot on the narrative accelerator.”—Financial Times
 
“Intriguing . . . suspenseful . . . a web of deceit and betrayal.”Booklist
format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
id799417bb-d092-132b-a9ac-dd28674d736a
isbn9780345527943
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d55eece2-fb63-4413-ac60-8d3f0e3643621Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:d55eece2-fb63-4413-ac60-8d3f0e364362-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-02-27T09:48:26.865Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780345527943
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d55eece2-fb63-4413-ac60-8d3f0e364362eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d55eece2-fb63-4413-ac60-8d3f0e3643621Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d55eece2-fb63-4413-ac60-8d3f0e364362-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayThe Ghost Shift A Novel
title_fullThe Ghost Shift A Novel
title_shortThe Ghost Shift
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller