All libraries are closed Monday, July 4 for Independence Day.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The Weight of Blood: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.7 - AR Pts: 14
Description
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart. INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD WINNER AND BARRY AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE   The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy’s family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family’s influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother’s daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri’s death.   What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.   The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.   “[An] expertly crafted thriller.”—Entertainment Weekly, “The Must List”   “Haunting . . . [a] riveting debut.”—Los Angeles Times   “Laura McHugh’s atmospheric debut . . . conjures a menacingly beautiful Ozark setting and a nest of poisonous family secrets reminiscent of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone.”—Vogue   “Fantastic . . . a mile-a-minute thriller.”—The Dallas Morning News   “Gripping . . . Her prose will not only keep readers turning the pages but also paints a real and believable portrait of the connections, alliances, and sacrifices that underpin rural, small-town life. . . . Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy thrillers by authors such as Laura Lippman and Tana French.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “The sinister tone builds relentlessly.”—The Plain Dealer   “Rich in character and atmosphere . . . This is one you won’t want to miss.”—Karin Slaughter   “Daniel Woodrell better watch his back. . . . Weight of Blood is a tense, taut novel and a truly remarkable debut. . . . A suspenseful thrill ride that satisfies in all the right ways.”—BookPage From the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7a52ab6a-78df-76a4-99b3-fb4b5981a589
Grouping Titleweight of blood
Grouping Authorlaura mchugh
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-07-02 04:08:22AM
Last Indexed2022-07-02 04:35:55AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
UG
accelerated_reader_point_value
14
accelerated_reader_reading_level
5.7
auth_author2
Blue, Dorothy Dillingham
McManus, Shannon
Willingham, Sofia
author
McHugh, Laura
author2-role
Blue, Dorothy Dillingham,narrator
Findaway World, LLC
McManus, Shannon,narrator
Playaway Digital Audio
Random House (Firm)
Random House Audio Publishing
Willingham, Sofia,narrator
cloudLibrary
author_display
McHugh, Laura
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacpl
ADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Audiobooks
display_description
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Scott Smith, and Daniel Woodrell comes a gripping, suspenseful novel about two mysterious disappearances a generation apart. INTERNATIONAL THRILLER WRITERS AWARD WINNER AND BARRY AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE   The town of Henbane sits deep in the Ozark Mountains. Folks there still whisper about Lucy Dane’s mother, a bewitching stranger who appeared long enough to marry Carl Dane and then vanished when Lucy was just a child. Now on the brink of adulthood, Lucy experiences another loss when her friend Cheri disappears and is then found murdered, her body placed on display for all to see. Lucy’s family has deep roots in the Ozarks, part of a community that is fiercely protective of its own. Yet despite her close ties to the land, and despite her family’s influence, Lucy—darkly beautiful as her mother was—is always thought of by those around her as her mother’s daughter. When Cheri disappears, Lucy is haunted by the two lost girls—the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn’t save—and sets out with the help of a local boy, Daniel, to uncover the mystery behind Cheri’s death.   What Lucy discovers is a secret that pervades the secluded Missouri hills, and beyond that horrific revelation is a more personal one concerning what happened to her mother more than a decade earlier.   The Weight of Blood is an urgent look at the dark side of a bucolic landscape beyond the arm of the law, where a person can easily disappear without a trace. Laura McHugh proves herself a masterly storyteller who has created a harsh and tangled terrain as alive and unforgettable as the characters who inhabit it. Her mesmerizing debut is a compelling exploration of the meaning of family: the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths to which we will go to protect the ones we love.   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.   “[An] expertly crafted thriller.”—Entertainment Weekly, “The Must List”   “Haunting . . . [a] riveting debut.”—Los Angeles Times   “Laura McHugh’s atmospheric debut . . . conjures a menacingly beautiful Ozark setting and a nest of poisonous family secrets reminiscent of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone.”—Vogue   “Fantastic . . . a mile-a-minute thriller.”—The Dallas Morning News   “Gripping . . . Her prose will not only keep readers turning the pages but also paints a real and believable portrait of the connections, alliances, and sacrifices that underpin rural, small-town life. . . . Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy thrillers by authors such as Laura Lippman and Tana French.”—Library Journal (starred review)   “The sinister tone builds relentlessly.”—The Plain Dealer   “Rich in character and atmosphere . . . This is one you won’t want to miss.”—Karin Slaughter   “Daniel Woodrell better watch his back. . . . Weight of Blood is a tense, taut novel and a truly remarkable debut. . . . A suspenseful thrill ride that satisfies in all the right ways.”—BookPage From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_aacpl
Playaway
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
7a52ab6a-78df-76a4-99b3-fb4b5981a589
isbn
9780804191524
9780812995213
9781467670180
itype_aacpl
Adult Playaway
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2022-07-02T08:35:55.457Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
PLAYAWAY FICTION (M)
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn
9780812995213
primary_upc
9781467670180
publishDate
2014
publisher
Findaway World, LLC
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Detective and mystery fiction
Domestic fiction
Electronic books
Families -- Fiction
Human trafficking -- Fiction
Literary -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Ozark Mountains Region -- Fiction
Psychological -- Fiction
Suspense -- Thrillers
title_display
The Weight of Blood A Novel
title_full
The Weight of Blood A Novel
The Weight of Blood A Novel [eBook] McHugh, Laura,
The weight of blood [playaway] : a novel / Laura McHugh
title_short
The Weight of Blood
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Families
Fiction
Human trafficking
Literary
Literature
Mothers and daughters
Psychological
Suspense
Thriller
upc
9781467670180

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:bf13d1e0-a363-4924-90df-3502b55ceaee1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:bf13d1e0-a363-4924-90df-3502b55ceaee-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a113839731997089368658Severna Park Library - AudiobooksPLAYAWAY FICTION (M)1falsefalseOn ShelfApr 29, 2019S-PK
overdrive:fa476449-bac8-48d7-a87a-5ee349c008971Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:fa476449-bac8-48d7-a87a-5ee349c00897-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14967281496728-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-d5q55g9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:bf13d1e0-a363-4924-90df-3502b55ceaeeeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:a1138397PlayawayAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishFindaway World, LLC[2014]1 audio media player (approximately 10 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
overdrive:fa476449-bac8-48d7-a87a-5ee349c00897eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
external_econtent:ils:a1496728eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014336 pages

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:bf13d1e0-a363-4924-90df-3502b55ceaee1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:bf13d1e0-a363-4924-90df-3502b55ceaee-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a113839731997089368658On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:fa476449-bac8-48d7-a87a-5ee349c008971Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:fa476449-bac8-48d7-a87a-5ee349c00897-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:a14967281496728-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue