We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Crime of Privilege: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America--and the dangerous ways they come together. nbsp; A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach. nbsp; All they have in common is the presence of one of America's most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney's office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn't born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn't like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy--and shows him what a perilous place it is. nbsp; Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim's father, George can't explain why certain leads were never explored--leads that point in the direction of a single family--and he agrees to look into it. nbsp; What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life's sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim's last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption. Praise for Crime of Privilege nbsp; "Twisting, engrossing, irresistible." --William Landay, author of Defending Jacob nbsp; "Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story." -- Library Journal (starred review) nbsp; "A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!" --John Lescroart nbsp; "A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption." -- Maclean's nbsp; "A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author's wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp." -- Bookreporter nbsp; "An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable." --Examiner.com
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780345541543
9780385367240
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID828d294a-98bb-4f00-091e-6ff5d247b47f
Grouping Titlecrime of privilege
Grouping Authorwalter walker
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-22 04:16:55AM
Last Indexed2020-09-22 04:46:36AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorWalter Walker
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayWalker, Walter
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE SACRAMENTO BEE
In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.


A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.

All they have in common is the presence of one of America's most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney's office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn't born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn't like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.

Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim's father, George can't explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.

What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life's sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim's last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption.
Praise for Crime of Privilege

"Twisting, engrossing, irresistible."—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob

"Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story."Library Journal (starred review)

"A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!"—John Lescroart

"A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption."Maclean's

"A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author's wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp."Bookreporter

"An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable."—Examiner.com
From the Hardcover edition.
format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
id828d294a-98bb-4f00-091e-6ff5d247b47f
isbn9780345541543
9780385367240
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14956211495621-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-bd4nug9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook8falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:1491bae5-7c28-4188-bdf7-5ab415df0dea-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books6falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:1491bae5-7c28-4188-bdf7-5ab415df0dea1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2020-09-22T08:46:36.636Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780345541543
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
external_econtent:ils:a1495621eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2013.432 p.
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbdeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
overdrive:1491bae5-7c28-4188-bdf7-5ab415df0deaeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
ils:a1495621eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2013.432 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14956211495621-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:57a1f425-ccae-4065-ae83-b2194c18bfbd1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:1491bae5-7c28-4188-bdf7-5ab415df0dea-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:1491bae5-7c28-4188-bdf7-5ab415df0dea1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetElectronic books
Legal -- FICTION
Mystery & Detective -- FICTION
Thrillers -- FICTION
title_displayCrime of Privilege A Novel
title_fullCrime of Privilege A Novel
Crime of Privilege A Novel [eBook] Walker, Walter.
title_shortCrime of Privilege
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Legal
Literature
Mystery
Mystery & Detective
Thriller
Thrillers