Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!
If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.
This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.
Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including
 
• artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
• full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
• in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
• 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book
The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345535559
9780553410075
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID847bbdb6-6a26-59df-941d-2299b6fb122a
Grouping Titleworld of ice and fire the untold history of westeros and the game of thrones
Grouping Authorgeorge r r martin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-11-27 04:33:05AM
Last Indexed2022-11-27 05:09:43AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Martin, George R. R.
author_display
Martin, George R. R.
detailed_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!
If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire.
This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator.
Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including
 
• artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces
• full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen
• in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros
• 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book
The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.
format_aacpl
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
847bbdb6-6a26-59df-941d-2299b6fb122a
isbn
9780345535559
9780553410075
last_indexed
2022-11-27T10:09:43.374Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780345535559
publishDate
2014
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Song of ice and fire
series_with_volume
Song of ice and fire|
title_display
The World of Ice & Fire The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
title_full
The World of Ice & Fire The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
title_short
The World of Ice & Fire
title_sub
The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones
topic_facet
Fantasy
Fiction
Literature
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db871Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db87-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3deBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db87eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2014

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:e432d4e6-ab13-4044-9dd1-b34fe2f57b3d1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db871Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e62b268b-6e3c-44d4-b795-5dcd8064db87-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse