Mother American night: my life in crazy times

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Crown Archetype,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
Mother American Night is the heartrendingly sad, hysterically funny, and often unbelievable yet always completely true story of a singular individual. Referred to by more than one publication as "The Most Interesting Man in the World," Barlow has throughout his life maintained close relationships with such diverse cultural figures as Bob Weir, Jerry Garcia, Timothy Leary, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, and Steve Jobs. During his long and varied career, Barlow has written the lyrics to 30 songs by the Grateful Dead while also running his family's cattle ranch. Despite being a freely self-confessed acidhead, he served as a campaign manager for Dick Cheney during his run for Congress in 1978--the same year he hosted 18-year-old JFK Jr. at his ranch for some summer seasoning. When he was 42, Barlow became a renowned internet guru who began vigorously defending the right for all to use it freely by co-founding the Electronic Freedom Foundation in 1990. A brilliant thinker and writer, he has over the course of the past half century somehow managed to be at the cutting edge of popular culture. And as impressive as his accomplishments have been, Barlow's dramatic personal life reads like the story of a generation writ large. Blessed with an incredible sense of humor and a unique voice that comes right off the page, Barlow is a born storyteller in the tradition of Mark Twain and Will Rogers.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524760182
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8570b667-78a5-a55d-6bc6-7ce3f1887b24
Grouping Title mother american night my life in crazy times
Grouping Author barlow john perry
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-20 04:57:04AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-20 05:01:58AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Greenfield, Robert,
author Barlow, John Perry, 1947-2018,
author2-role Greenfield, Robert,author.
author_display Barlow, John Perry
available_at_aacpl Crofton Library, Glen Burnie Library, Severna Park Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Annapolis Library - Nonfiction, Crofton Library - Nonfiction, Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction, Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_description "[This] is the wild, funny, heartbreaking, and often unbelievable (yet completely true) story of an American icon. Born into a powerful Wyoming political family, John Perry Barlow wrote the lyrics for thirty Grateful Dead songs while also running his family's cattle ranch ... Blessed with an incredible sense of humor and a unique voice, Barlow was a born storyteller in the tradition of Mark Twain and Will Rogers. Through intimate portraits of friends and acquaintances from Bob Weir and Jerry Garcia to Timothy Leary and Steve Jobs, [this book] traces the generational passage by which the counterculture became the culture, and it shows why learning to accept love may be the hardest thing we ever ask of ourselves"--Amazon.com.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 8570b667-78a5-a55d-6bc6-7ce3f1887b24
isbn 9781524760182
item_details ils:a1443031|31997101244853|Crofton Library - Nonfiction|921 BARLOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Sep 22, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1443031|31997101244861|Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction|921 BARLOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Aug 27, 2018|NCO||, ils:a1443031|31997101245124|Annapolis Library - Nonfiction|921 BARLOW|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 19, 2018|ANN||, ils:a1443031|31997101245132|Severna Park Library - Nonfiction|921 BARLOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 02, 2018|S-PK||, ils:a1443031|31997101245140|Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction|921 BARLOW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Aug 07, 2018|NCO||
itype_aacpl Adult Nonfiction
last_indexed 2018-10-20T09:01:58.661Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl 921 BARLOW
local_time_since_added_aacpl Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Annapolis Library, Crofton Library, Glen Burnie Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9781524760182
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1443031|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Crown Archetype,|[2018]|xi, 270 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 25 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1443031 31997101245132 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1443031 31997101245140 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1443031 31997101245124 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1443031 31997101244853 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1443031 31997101244861 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Autobiographies, Barlow, John Perry, -- 1947-2018, Grateful Dead (Musical group), Lyricists -- United States -- Biography
title_display Mother American night : my life in crazy times
title_full Mother American night : my life in crazy times / John Perry Barlow with Robert Greenfield
title_short Mother American night :
title_sub my life in crazy times
topic_facet Barlow, John Perry, Lyricists