Novels, 1969-1974

Book Cover
Average Rating
Library of America,
Pub. Date:
This Library of America volume is the third of three devoted to Vladimir Nabokov, and contains the evanescent works of his later years. Ada, or Ardor: A Family Chronicle (1969), the longest of Nabokov's novels, is a witty and parodic account of a man's lifelong love for his sister. All of his favorite themes and most characteristic techniques are woven into this culminating work of Nabokov's imagination. The linguistic richness of the book's free blending of English, Russian, and French is matched by the baroque and dreamlike splendor of the alternate universe it creates, a universe in which time moves in more than one direction and all details are cunningly interrelated. Alfred Kazin wrote on its original publication: " Ada , coming after Lolita and Pale Fire , makes a trilogy with no contemporary peer." Transparent Things (1972) is a haunting novella of the anguished life of Hugh Person, a young American editor and proofreader: his marriage, the murder of his wife, and the lone journey to uncover the truth about the past. With its multiple narrative voices and fusion of dream and memory, it is among the most formally experimental of Nabokov's works. Look at the Harlequins! (1974), Nabokov's final novel, concerns Vadim Vadimovitch N., a novelist very much like Nabokov himself. This ironic, intricate hall of mirrors, startling in its shifts of tone and off-key echoes of Nabokov's earlier books, often blurs the line between the worlds of reality and of literary invention. Nabokov's penciled corrections in his own copies of his works are incorporated into these, the most authoritative versions available, and have been prepared with the assistance of Dmitri Nabokov, the novelist's son. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 870e0046-dba9-d4b2-5308-c72a2abfdcd3
Grouping Title novels 1969 1974
Grouping Author nabokov vladimir vladimirovich
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-02 04:47:46AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-23 04:51:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich, 1899-1977.
author_display Nabokov, Vladimir Vladimirovich
available_at_aacpl Linthicum Library, Odenton Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Linthicum Library - Classic Titles, Odenton Library - Classic Titles
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 870e0046-dba9-d4b2-5308-c72a2abfdcd3
isbn 9781883011208
item_details ils:a112447|31997056784606|Linthicum Library - Classic Titles|CLASSICS (N)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 31, 2018|LIN||, ils:a112447|31997056784663|Odenton Library - Classic Titles|CLASSICS (N)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 18, 2016|WCO||
itype_aacpl Classic titles
last_indexed 2019-04-23T08:51:14.298Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl CLASSICS (N)
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Linthicum Library, Odenton Library
primary_isbn 9781883011208
publishDate 1996
record_details ils:a112447|Book|Books||English|Library of America,|1996.|p. cm.
recordtype grouped_work
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a112447 31997056784663 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a112447 31997056784606 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Library of America
series_with_volume Library of America|89
title_display Novels, 1969-1974
title_full Novels, 1969-1974 [classic] / Vladimir Nabokov
title_short Novels, 1969-1974