Sweet black waves

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Imprint,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 710L
Description

For fans of Graceling and The Mists of Avalon , this lush fantasy about warring countries and forbidden romance will have readers entranced.

As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighting for what's right, even as her powers grow, will set Branwen against her best friend and the only man she's ever loved.

Kristina Pérez's debut features star-crossed lovers who changed the fate two nations. Inspired by the legend of Tristan and Iseult, this is the story of the legend's true heroine: Branwen.

An Imprint Book "Star-crossed love, tested loyalties, and magic that binds and burns-- Sweet Black Waves gripped me all the way to the shocking ending." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere and The Ship Beyond Time

"Intense, swoon worthy, and smart." --Vic James, author of Gilded Cage and Tarnished City

"An enchanting story of fierce friendship and dangerous love . . . Pérez has written a book that whispers the sound of the ocean as you turn each page." --Alice Broadway, author of the Ink Trilogy

"Fans of Joan Wolf's Dark Ages of Britain trilogy and Tessa Gratton's The Queens of Innis Lear will enjoy this dreamy tale, which is carried along with vibrant descriptions and intense emotion." -- RT Reviews "The female characters are vivid, powerful, and passionate...a thrilling roller coaster." -- Kirkus Reviews

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250132857
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 710L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 934c8901-f052-d0f0-5369-deba11fa380b
Grouping Title sweet black waves
Grouping Author pérez kristina
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-10 04:47:28AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-20 04:43:11AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Pérez, Kristina, 1980-
author_display Pérez, Kristina
collection_aacpl YA
detailed_location_aacpl Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Young Adult Fiction, Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction, Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction
display_description "As best friend and lady-in-waiting to the princess, Branwen is guided by two principles: devotion to her homeland and hatred for the raiders who killed her parents. When she unknowingly saves the life of her enemy, he awakens her ancient healing magic and opens her heart. Branwen begins to dream of peace, but the princess she serves is not so easily convinced. Fighitng for what's right, even as her powers grow beyond her control, will set Branwen against her closest confidant and the man she's come to love."--Page [2] of cover.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id 934c8901-f052-d0f0-5369-deba11fa380b
isbn 9781250132857
item_details ils:a1465483|31997100992957|Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (P)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||EAN||, ils:a1465483|31997100992965|Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (P)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||NCO||, ils:a1465483|31997100992973|Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (P)|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||WCO||
itype_aacpl Young Adult Fiction
last_indexed 2018-08-20T08:43:11.637Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 710
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl Y FICTION (P)
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library, Glen Burnie Library, Odenton Library
primary_isbn 9781250132857
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1465483|Book|Books||English|Imprint,|2018.|435 pages : map ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1465483 31997100992957 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1465483 31997100992965 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
ils:a1465483 31997100992973 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
series Sweet black waves trilogy
series_with_volume Sweet black waves trilogy|1
subject_facet Courts and courtiers -- Fiction, Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Friendship -- Fiction, Ladies-in-waiting -- Fiction, Love -- Fiction, Magic -- Fiction, Romance fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display Sweet black waves
title_full Sweet black waves / Kristina Pérez
title_short Sweet black waves
topic_facet Courts and courtiers, Fantasy, Friendship, Ladies-in-waiting, Love, Magic, Young adult fiction