The Severn Library will be closed from February 1 - 21. It is currently unavailable as a holds pickup location.

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Description
For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove , a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself--at any age. "Here is a love story of the most important kind: that of coming to love oneself through accepting and returning the love of others--be it people or dogs." --Elizabeth Berg, author of Night of Miracles The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife's native Australia, taking Missy's beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for...what exactly? The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won't take no for an answer--including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time. Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it's never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it's never too late to love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525542445
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9e7895de-7a89-b9d9-533e-d2cfb9f5f9c6
Grouping Titlelove story of missy carmichael
Grouping Authormorrey beth
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-07 04:11:42AM
Last Indexed2020-01-26 04:31:06AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMorrey, Beth
author_displayMorrey, Beth
detailed_location_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library On Order
display_description
format_aacplOn Order
id9e7895de-7a89-b9d9-533e-d2cfb9f5f9c6
isbn9780525542445
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a1668670a1668670Anne Arundel County Public Library On OrderON ORDEROn Order1truefalseOn Orderaacpl
last_indexed2020-01-26T09:31:06.875Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formOther
literary_form_fullOther
local_callnumber_aacplON ORDER
local_time_since_added_aacpl2 Months
Day
Month
On Order
Quarter
Six Months
Week
Year
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library On Order
primary_isbn9780525542445
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1668670Book
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1668670a1668670On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
title_fullThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael Morrey, Beth
title_shortThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael