Returned items are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not applied while items are in quarantine.

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2020
Language:
English
Description
For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove , a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself--at any age. "At a time when people are having to isolate, [this novel is] a balm, offering an expansive sense of love and possibility at a time when the main characters feel like those chances are gone." -- Christian Science Monitor The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife's native Australia, taking Missy's beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for...what exactly? The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won't take no for an answer--including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time. Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it's never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it's never too late to love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525542469
9780593163474
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9e7895de-7a89-b9d9-533e-d2cfb9f5f9c6
Grouping Titlelove story of missy carmichael
Grouping Authormorrey beth
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-07-08 04:18:00AM
Last Indexed2020-07-08 04:24:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBeth Morrey
author_displayBeth Morrey
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionFor readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself—at any age.
"At a time when people are having to isolate, [this novel is] a balm, offering an expansive sense of love and possibility at a time when the main characters feel like those chances are gone." —Christian Science Monitor

The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife's native Australia, taking Missy's beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for...what exactly?
The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won't take no for an answer—including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time.
Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it's never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it's never too late to love.
format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
id9e7895de-7a89-b9d9-533e-d2cfb9f5f9c6
isbn9780525542469
9780593163474
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c488-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c4881Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d201Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d20-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
last_indexed2020-07-08T08:24:05.296Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
local_time_since_added_aacplSix Months
Year
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780525542469
publishDate2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c488eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2020
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d20eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2020
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c488-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c4881Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d201Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d20-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
title_fullThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
title_shortThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
topic_facetFiction
Literature