All library locations will be closed through May 3 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. More information.

Fines will not be charged while the library system is closed. Please keep your items until we reopen.

The Love Story of Missy Carmichael

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Description
For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove , a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself--at any age. "Here is a love story of the most important kind: that of coming to love oneself through accepting and returning the love of others--be it people or dogs." --Elizabeth Berg, author of Night of Miracles The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife's native Australia, taking Missy's beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for...what exactly? The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won't take no for an answer--including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time. Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it's never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it's never too late to love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525542445
9780593163474
9780525542469
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9e7895de-7a89-b9d9-533e-d2cfb9f5f9c6
Grouping Titlelove story of missy carmichael
Grouping Authormorrey beth
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-04-06 04:10:43AM
Last Indexed2020-04-06 04:16:31AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMorrey, Beth
author_displayMorrey, Beth
detailed_location_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library On Order
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionFor readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made extraordinary through friendship, family, and the power of forgiving yourself—at any age.
"Here is a love story of the most important kind: that of coming to love oneself through accepting and returning the love of others—be it people or dogs." —Elizabeth Berg, author of Night of Miracles

The world has changed around seventy-nine-year-old librarian Millicent Carmichael, aka Missy. Though quick to admit that she often found her roles as a housewife and mother less than satisfying, Missy once led a bustling life driven by two children, an accomplished and celebrated husband, and a Classics degree from Cambridge. Now her husband is gone, her daughter is estranged after a shattering argument, and her son has moved to his wife's native Australia, taking Missy's beloved only grandchild half-a-world away. She spends her days sipping sherry, avoiding people, and rattling around in her oversized, under-decorated house waiting for...what exactly?
The last thing Missy expects is for two perfect strangers and one spirited dog named Bob to break through her prickly exterior and show Missy just how much love she still has to give. In short order, Missy finds herself in the jarring embrace of an eclectic community that simply won't take no for an answer—including a rambunctious mutt-on-loan whose unconditional love gives Missy a reason to re-enter the world one muddy paw print at a time.
Filled with wry laughter and deep insights, The Love Story of Missy Carmichael is a coming-of-old story that shows us it's never too late to forgive yourself and, just as important, it's never too late to love.
format_aacplOn Order
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
id9e7895de-7a89-b9d9-533e-d2cfb9f5f9c6
isbn9780525542445
9780525542469
9780593163474
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c488-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c4881Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:a1668670a1668670Anne Arundel County Public Library On OrderON ORDEROn Order1truefalseOn Orderaacpl
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d20-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d201Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
last_indexed2020-04-06T08:16:31.822Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplON ORDER
Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_aacpl2 Months
Month
Quarter
Six Months
Week
Year
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library On Order
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780525542445
publishDate2020
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c488eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2020
ils:a1668670Book
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d20eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2020
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c488-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c065b7e5-6288-43db-bec2-14878230c4881Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a1668670a1668670On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d20-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:29def16b-91c9-4d0c-ba82-56d6d9770d201Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
title_fullThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
The Love Story of Missy Carmichael Morrey, Beth
title_shortThe Love Story of Missy Carmichael
topic_facetFiction
Literature