The Riviera Beach Library is currently closed.

The Girl Before: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
THE GLOBAL BESTSELLER • Soon to be a BBC One and HBO Max limited four-part series, starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Morning Show; Misbehaviour) and multiple Golden Globe, BAFTA, and Emmy-nominated actor David Oyelowo (Selma; Les Misérables)
 
“A pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense” (Lee Child) that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception
Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.
The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.
EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.
JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.
Praise for The Girl Before
“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.”—Lee Child
The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we’re not provided either woman’s answers.”—The New York Times
“J. P. Delaney builds the suspense.”Vanity Fair
“Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there’s not only more where that came from, but it’s also more thrilling.”American Booksellers Association
Also in This Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9f5a5ded-d41c-8b2d-dbbc-f0c1c7986fdc
Grouping Titlegirl before
Grouping Authorjp delaney
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-20 04:05:53AM
Last Indexed2024-02-20 04:55:54AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Fox, Emilia, 1974-
Knudsen, Lise Aagaard
Williams, Finty
author
Delaney, Jp
author2-role
Findaway World, LLC,distributor
Fox, Emilia,1974-narrator
Knudsen, Lise Aagaard,narrator
Playaway Digital Audio,publisher
Random House Audio Publishing
Recorded Books, Inc
Williams, Finty,narrator
author_display
Delaney, Jp
available_at_aacpl
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Deale Library
Glen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacpl
ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl
Brooklyn Park Library - Audiobooks
Crofton Library - Audiobooks
Deale Library - Audiobooks
Glen Burnie Library - Audiobooks
Odenton Library - Audiobooks
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
THE GLOBAL BESTSELLER • Soon to be a BBC One and HBO Max limited four-part series, starring Gugu Mbatha-Raw (The Morning Show; Misbehaviour) and multiple Golden Globe, BAFTA, and Emmy-nominated actor David Oyelowo (Selma; Les Misérables)
 
“A pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense” (Lee Child) that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception
Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.
The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.
EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.
JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home’s previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.
Praise for The Girl Before
“Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense.”—Lee Child
The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we’re not provided either woman’s answers.”—The New York Times
“J. P. Delaney builds the suspense.”Vanity Fair
“Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there’s not only more where that came from, but it’s also more thrilling.”American Booksellers Association
format_aacpl
Audio CD
Playaway
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
9f5a5ded-d41c-8b2d-dbbc-f0c1c7986fdc
isbn
9780425285053
9780735286535
9780735286566
9781509429028
itype_aacpl
Adult Audiobook on CD
Adult Playaway
last_indexed
2024-02-20T09:55:54.735Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CD FICTION (D)
Online OverDrive
PLAYAWAY FICTION (D)
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Deale Library
Glen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780425285053
primary_upc
9781509429028
publishDate
2017
publisher
Books on Tape
Distributed by Recorded Books
Playaway
Random House Audio
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Architects -- Fiction
Architects -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Audiobooks
Audiobooks (CD)
Control (Psychology) -- Fiction
Control (Psychology) -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Dwellings -- Fiction
Dwellings -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Psychological fiction
Psychological fiction. -- Audiobooks (CD)
Single women -- Fiction
Single women -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Thrillers (Fiction)
Thrillers (Fiction) -- Audiobooks (CD)
title_display
The Girl Before A Novel
title_full
The Girl Before A Novel
The girl before [playaway] : a novel / J. P. Delaney
The girl before [sound recording] : a novel / JP Delaney
title_short
The Girl Before
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Architects
Audiobooks (CD)
Control (Psychology)
Dwellings
Fiction
Literature
Single women
Suspense
Thriller
upc
9781509429028

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:479e6f07-4640-45e8-9883-4ce3d189e1031Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:479e6f07-4640-45e8-9883-4ce3d189e103-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook26falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:1558a561-a1ae-40ef-8ca4-332448a8b7fd-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books13falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:1558a561-a1ae-40ef-8ca4-332448a8b7fd1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:a175333131997090132424Brooklyn Park Library - AudiobooksPLAYAWAY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 04, 2023BPK
ils:a175333131997090132416Odenton Library - AudiobooksPLAYAWAY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 16, 2023WCO
ils:a135130731997098146822Crofton Library - AudiobooksCD FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 09, 2022CRO
ils:a135130731997098148786Odenton Library - AudiobooksCD FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 27, 2023WCO
ils:a135130731997098146814Deale Library - AudiobooksCD FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 09, 2023SCO
ils:a135130731997098148323Glen Burnie Library - AudiobooksCD FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 26, 2022NCO

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:479e6f07-4640-45e8-9883-4ce3d189e103eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
overdrive:1558a561-a1ae-40ef-8ca4-332448a8b7fdeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2017
ils:a1753331PlayawayAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishPlayaway[2017]1 audio media player (approximately 10 hr.) : digital ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
ils:a1351307Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishDistributed by Recorded Booksp20178 audio discs (10 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:479e6f07-4640-45e8-9883-4ce3d189e1031Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:479e6f07-4640-45e8-9883-4ce3d189e103-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:1558a561-a1ae-40ef-8ca4-332448a8b7fd-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:1558a561-a1ae-40ef-8ca4-332448a8b7fd1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a175333131997090132424On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a175333131997090132416On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a135130731997098146822On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a135130731997098148786On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a135130731997098146814On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a135130731997098148323On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue