We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Quick: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England. In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents. Praise for The Quick "A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist." --Kate Atkinson "A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction." --Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life "A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun." -- The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice) " The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing." --The Dallas Morning News "The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel." --The Economist "A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination." --Tana French, author of In the Woods "A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day." -- Minneapolis Star Tribune "Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on." --O: The Oprah Magazine "A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre." --Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall "A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what's here with what's beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does." -- Slate "[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens's London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own." --Pittsburgh Post-Gazette From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780804165501
9780679645054
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa36c40b2-c639-42d4-851f-24497673e66e
Grouping Titlequick
Grouping Authorlauren owen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-21 21:10:55PM
Last Indexed2020-09-21 21:11:33PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorLauren Owen
author_displayLauren Owen
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE • Includes an exclusive conversation between Lev Grossman and Lauren Owen
For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London


1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.

In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.

"A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."—Kate Atkinson

"A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction."—Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life

"A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun."The New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice)

"The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing."—The Dallas Morning News

"The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel."—The Economist

"A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination."—Tana French, author of In the Woods

"A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day."Minneapolis Star Tribune

"Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on."—O: The Oprah Magazine

"A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre."—Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall

"A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what's here with what's beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does."Slate

"[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens's London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own."—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
ida36c40b2-c639-42d4-851f-24497673e66e
isbn9780679645054
9780804165501
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be88811Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:16de3e17-1061-4152-af4d-66c1157f8a6f-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:16de3e17-1061-4152-af4d-66c1157f8a6f1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
last_indexed2020-09-22T01:11:33.837Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780804165501
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
overdrive:16de3e17-1061-4152-af4d-66c1157f8a6feAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be88811Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:16de3e17-1061-4152-af4d-66c1157f8a6f-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:16de3e17-1061-4152-af4d-66c1157f8a6f1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Quick A Novel
title_fullThe Quick A Novel
title_shortThe Quick
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature