We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

This must be the place: A novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Best-selling author Maggie O'Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls "her breakout book." Perfect for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette .   Meet Daniel Sullivan, a man with a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and a wife, Claudette, who is a reclusive ex-film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Claudette was once the most glamorous and infamous woman in cinema before she staged her own disappearance and retreated to blissful seclusion in an Irish farmhouse.  But the life Daniel and Claudette have so carefully constructed is about to be disrupted by an unexpected discovery about a woman Daniel lost touch with twenty years ago. This revelation will send him off-course, far away from wife, children, and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back?   "O'Farrell's prose manages to be both intimate and expansive and keenly perceptive in its insights about the complexities of marriage.  Beautiful and bittersweet, THIS MUST BE THE PLACE will make O'Farrell's longtime fans swoon while prompting new readers to wonder why they've only just discovered her." --BookPage    "I have been a huge fan of Maggie O'Farrell's novels for years.  She writes with tremendous clarity and poise and in THIS MUST BE THE PLACE you are invested in what happens to Daniel and Claudette from the moment you meet them.  A joy to read."  --Jane Green   "Inventive, moving, and hilarious. I loved it."   --Rachel Joyce, best-selling author of  The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry  

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385349420
9781501919961
9781501919954
9780385349437
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa3ed01ab-dfdc-a2e8-597f-7842850a1db9
Grouping Titlethis must be the place
Grouping Authormaggie ofarrell
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 04:22:18AM
Last Indexed2020-09-19 04:43:08AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385349420

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Maarleveld, Saskia.
Rowat, Graham.
authorO'Farrell, Maggie, 1972-
author2-roleMaarleveld, Saskia.|Narrator
Recorded Books, Inc.
Rowat, Graham.Narrator
Rowat, Graham.|Narrator
author_displayO'Farrell, Maggie
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Edgewater Library
Glen Burnie Library
Mountain Road Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Audiobooks
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
Crofton Library - Audiobooks
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Audiobooks
Edgewater Library - Adult Fiction
Edgewater Library - Audiobooks
Glen Burnie Library - Audiobooks
Mountain Road Library - Audiobooks
Odenton Library - Audiobooks
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_description"Daniel Sullivan, a young American professor reeling from a failed marriage and a brutal custody battle, is on holiday in Ireland when he falls in love with Claudette, a world famous sexual icon and actress who fled fame for a reclusive life in a rural village. Together, they make an idyllic life in the country, raising two more children in blissful seclusion until a secret from Daniel's past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. What follows is a journey through Daniel's many lives told in his voice and the voices of those who have made him the man he is: the American son and daughter he has not seen for many years; the family he has made with Claudette; and irrepressible, irreverent Claudette herself. Shot through with humor and wisdom, This Must Be the Place is a powerful rumination on the nature of identity, and the complexities of loyalty and devotion a gripping story of an extraordinary family and an extraordinary love"--
format_aacplAudio CD
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
ida3ed01ab-dfdc-a2e8-597f-7842850a1db9
isbn9780385349420
9780385349437
9781501919954
9781501919961
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
rbdigital:rbdZ12256rbdZ12256RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781501919961Available OnlineRBdigital
overdrive:4ad72016-4e30-4a09-aa62-469498ba82b6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:4ad72016-4e30-4a09-aa62-469498ba82b61Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:a130115331997095015079Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (O)1falsefalseChecked OutSep 13, 2020S-PK
ils:a130115331997095449047Crofton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (O)1falsefalseIn TransitSep 05, 2020CRO
ils:a130115331997095449013Edgewater Library - Adult FictionFICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 02, 2020EDG
ils:a130115331997095449039Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (O)1falsefalseChecked OutSep 14, 2020S-PK
ils:a130115331997095015046Crofton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (O)1falsefalseOn HoldJul 25, 2020CRO
ils:a130722531997098113350Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 26, 2020EAN
ils:a130722531997098113319Mountain Road Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 12, 2019MTR
ils:a130722531997098113343Edgewater Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 21, 2019EDG
ils:a130722531997098113293Crofton Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 30, 2019CRO
ils:a130722531997098113277Glen Burnie Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 31, 2018NCO
ils:a130722531997098112337Broadneck Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 21, 2020BDN
ils:a130722531997098110679Odenton Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 05, 2018WCO
ils:a130722531997098113335Crofton Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 16, 2019CRO
ils:a130722531997098110687Edgewater Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 15, 2020EDG
ils:a130722531997098112188Broadneck Library - Audiobooks(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 17, 2019BDN
itype_aacplAdult Audiobook on CD
Adult General Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-19T08:43:08.833Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacpl(COMPACT DISC) FICTION (O)
FICTION (O)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Edgewater Library
Glen Burnie Library
Mountain Road Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780385349420
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
rbdigital:rbdZ12256eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books ;2016, p2016.1 online resource (14 hr., 44 min.)
overdrive:4ad72016-4e30-4a09-aa62-469498ba82b6eBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2016
ils:a1301153BookBooksFirst American edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, 2016.382 pages ; 25 cm
ils:a1307225Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, p2016.12 sound discs (14 hr., 45 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
rbdigital:rbdZ12256rbdZ12256Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4ad72016-4e30-4a09-aa62-469498ba82b6-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4ad72016-4e30-4a09-aa62-469498ba82b61Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130115331997095015079Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130115331997095449047Checked OutIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130115331997095449013On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130115331997095449039Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130115331997095015046Checked OutOn Holdfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098113350On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098113319On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098113343On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098113293On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098113277On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098112337On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098110679On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098113335On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098110687On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a130722531997098112188On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesVintage Contemporaries
series_with_volumeVintage Contemporaries|
subject_facetActresses
Actresses -- Fiction
Americans
Americans -- Ireland -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Audiobooks (CD)
Domestic fiction. -- Audiobooks (CD)
Downloadable audio books
FICTION -- Historical
FICTION -- Sagas
FICTION -- Urban Life
FICTION / Sagas
Families
Families -- Fiction
Families -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Family secrets
Family secrets -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Fiction
Ireland
Ireland -- Fiction
Ireland -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Psychological fiction. -- Audiobooks (CD)
Teachers
Teachers -- Fiction
title_displayThis must be the place
title_fullThis Must Be the Place A novel
This must be the place / Maggie O'Farrell
This must be the place [electronic resource] / Maggie O'Farrell
This must be the place [sound recording] / Maggie O'Farrell
title_shortThis must be the place
title_subA novel
topic_facetActresses
Americans
Audiobooks (CD)
FICTION
FICTION / Sagas
Families
Family secrets
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Humor (Fiction)
Literature
Sagas
Teachers
Urban Life