All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn inside libraries by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

The Jane Austen Project: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description

"The most brilliant Austen-adjacent book on the market. . . . Flynn's style makes this a quick, fun read, and since the story is Jane-related there's even a romantic subplot." — Vulture

"What lover of literature hasn't dreamed of going back in time to meet Jane Austen? . . . . Kathleen A. Flynn brings this dream to life, creating a vivid portrait of Regency England in all its glory and squalor." —Lauren Belfer, author of After the Fire and A Fierce Radiance

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back," their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it. . . however heartbreaking that may prove.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062651266
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa4183d9e-bb6e-8ed8-51dc-b19fa06fa680
Grouping Titlejane austen project
Grouping Authorkathleen a flynn
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-11 04:15:49AM
Last Indexed2021-05-11 04:43:43AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062651259

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKathleen A. Flynn
author_displayKathleen A. Flynn
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

"The most brilliant Austen-adjacent book on the market. . . . Flynn's style makes this a quick, fun read, and since the story is Jane-related there's even a romantic subplot." — Vulture

"What lover of literature hasn't dreamed of going back in time to meet Jane Austen? . . . . Kathleen A. Flynn brings this dream to life, creating a vivid portrait of Regency England in all its glory and squalor." —Lauren Belfer, author of After the Fire and A Fierce Radiance

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back," their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it. . . however heartbreaking that may prove.

format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
ida4183d9e-bb6e-8ed8-51dc-b19fa06fa680
isbn9780062651266
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:04a311b2-ebcf-4490-a3f6-f98c2765c436-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:04a311b2-ebcf-4490-a3f6-f98c2765c4361Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-05-11T08:43:43.188Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780062651266
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:04a311b2-ebcf-4490-a3f6-f98c2765c436eBookeBookEnglishHarper Perennial2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:04a311b2-ebcf-4490-a3f6-f98c2765c436-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:04a311b2-ebcf-4490-a3f6-f98c2765c4361Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Jane Austen Project A Novel
title_fullThe Jane Austen Project A Novel
title_shortThe Jane Austen Project
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Literature