Middle passage

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Recorded Books ;
Pub. Date:
2011, p2002.
Edition:
Unabridged.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 7.1 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
1150L
Description
A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson's National Book Award-winning masterpiece--"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick ...heroic in proportion...fiction that hooks the mind" ( The New York Times Book Review )--now with a new introduction from Stanley Crouch. Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave and irrepressible rogue, is lost in the underworld of 1830s New Orleans. Desperate to escape the city's unscrupulous bill collectors and the pawing hands of a schoolteacher hellbent on marrying him, he jumps aboard the Republic , a slave ship en route to collect members of a legendary African tribe, the Allmuseri. Thus begins a voyage of metaphysical horror and human atrocity, a journey which challenges our notions of freedom, fate and how we live together. Peopled with vivid and unforgettable characters, nimble in its interplay of comedy and serious ideas, this dazzling modern classic is a perfect blend of the picaresque tale, historical romance, sea yarn, slave narrative and philosophical allegory. Now with a new introduction from renowned writer and critic Stanley Crouch, this twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Middle Passage celebrates a cornerstone of the American canon and the masterwork of one of its most important writers. "Long after we'd stopped believe in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that" ( Chicago Tribune ).
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
Graham, Dion. Narrator
ISBN:
9780684855882
9781449883799
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 7.1, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
1150L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a4f00a9e-0beb-c19d-1e9c-0edfb9c7af16
Grouping Title middle passage
Grouping Author johnson charles
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-03 04:37:25AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-16 04:44:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 7.1
auth_author2 Graham, Dion.
author Johnson, Charles (Charles Richard), 1948-
author2-role Graham, Dion.|Narrator
author_display Johnson, Charles
collection_aacpl RBDIGITAL
detailed_location_aacpl Online
display_description Rutherford Calhoun, a newly freed slave from an Illinois farm, travels to New Orleans only to discover that nothing but misery awaits him in the big city. Sitting on a pier as he contemplates his life, he decides the sea holds his interest and boards the first available ship. But after it sets sail, Calhoun learns he has boarded a slave ship enroute to Africa to collect members of a legendary tribe.
format_aacpl eAudiobook
format_category_aacpl eAudiobooks, eBook
id a4f00a9e-0beb-c19d-1e9c-0edfb9c7af16
isbn 9780684855882, 9781449883799
item_details external_econtent:ils:a1527679|1527679-1001|Online|RBDIGITAL|eAudiobook|eAudiobooks|1|false|true|RBDIGITAL||http://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781449883799||Available Online||Z-ELIBRARY||
itype_aacpl Downloadable Audio Book
last_indexed 2018-08-16T08:44:05.35Z
lexile_score 1150
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl RBDIGITAL
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Month, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
primary_isbn 9780684855882
publishDate 1998, 2011
record_details external_econtent:ils:a1527679|eAudiobook|eAudiobooks|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books ;|2011, p2002.|1 sound file (7 hr., 15 min.) : digital., ils:a142595|Book|Books||English|Scribner Paperback Fiction,|1998, c1990.|209 p. ; 21 cm., ils:a1527679|eAudiobook|eAudiobooks|Unabridged.|English|Recorded Books ;|2011, p2002.|1 sound file (7 hr., 15 min.) : digital.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a1527679 1527679-1001 Available Online Available Online false true false false false true
subject_facet Adventure stories, African Americans -- Fiction, Downloadable audio books, Sea stories, Slave trade -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction, Slavery -- Fiction
title_display Middle passage
title_full Middle passage / Charles Johnson, Middle passage [eAudio] / Charles Johnson
title_short Middle passage
topic_facet African Americans, History, Slave trade, Slavery