Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The Poser: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description

• Named one of the Huffington Post's 2015 Books We Can't Wait To Read 

“Smart and absorbing. . . . Echoes of Steven Millhauser and Tom McCarthy. . . . Probing, witty.” —The New York Times Book Review
“A masterful debut . . . delivered with vaudeville verve.” —The Washington Post
“Darkly funny. . . . A deeply sensitive exploration into matters of identity and authenticity.” —Associated Press
The Poser is smart and grand and funny, a wonderful fable. Mr. Rubin is a great hope for comic fiction in the 21st century. He’s got the spirit and the ear.” —Sam Lipsyte
A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom.
As Giovanni describes it, “No one’s disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire.” As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight—the only person whose thread he cannot find—and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own.
In the vein of Jonathan Lethem’s and Kevin Wilson’s playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin’s The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780698143739
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa80b6720-12b4-59b4-e384-875e086eb131
Grouping Titleposer
Grouping Authorjacob rubin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-29 04:07:45AM
Last Indexed2022-09-29 04:56:05AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Rubin, Jacob
author2-role
cloudLibrary
author_display
Rubin, Jacob
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

• Named one of the Huffington Post's 2015 Books We Can't Wait To Read 

“Smart and absorbing. . . . Echoes of Steven Millhauser and Tom McCarthy. . . . Probing, witty.” —The New York Times Book Review
“A masterful debut . . . delivered with vaudeville verve.” —The Washington Post
“Darkly funny. . . . A deeply sensitive exploration into matters of identity and authenticity.” —Associated Press
The Poser is smart and grand and funny, a wonderful fable. Mr. Rubin is a great hope for comic fiction in the 21st century. He’s got the spirit and the ear.” —Sam Lipsyte
A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom.
As Giovanni describes it, “No one’s disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire.” As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight—the only person whose thread he cannot find—and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own.
In the vein of Jonathan Lethem’s and Kevin Wilson’s playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin’s The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love.

format_aacpl
eBook
format_category_aacpl
eBook
id
a80b6720-12b4-59b4-e384-875e086eb131
isbn
9780698143739
itype_aacpl
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2022-09-29T08:56:05.717Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780698143739
publishDate
2015
publisher
Penguin Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Coming of Age -- Fiction
Electronic books
Literary -- Fiction
Psychological -- Fiction
title_display
The Poser A Novel
title_full
The Poser A Novel
The Poser A Novel [eBook] Rubin, Jacob,
title_short
The Poser
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Coming of Age
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Psychological

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b97631Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b9763-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a15021581502158-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-ewvkbg9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b9763eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2015
external_econtent:ils:a1502158eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2015256 pages

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b97631Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b9763-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:a15021581502158-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue