We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Poser: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description

* Named one of the Huffington Post's 2015 Books We Can't Wait To Read * "Smart and absorbing. . . . Echoes of Steven Millhauser and Tom McCarthy. . . . Probing, witty." -- The New York Times Book Review "A masterful debut . . . delivered with vaudeville verve." -- The Washington Post "Darkly funny. . . . A deeply sensitive exploration into matters of identity and authenticity." -- Associated Press " The Poser is smart and grand and funny, a wonderful fable. Mr. Rubin is a great hope for comic fiction in the 21st century. He's got the spirit and the ear." --Sam Lipsyte A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom. As Giovanni describes it, "No one's disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire." As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight--the only person whose thread he cannot find--and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own. In the vein of Jonathan Lethem's and Kevin Wilson's playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin's The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780698143739
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa80b6720-12b4-59b4-e384-875e086eb131
Grouping Titleposer
Grouping Authorjacob rubin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 04:16:55AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 04:44:35AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorRubin, Jacob.
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayRubin, Jacob
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

Named one of the Huffington Post's 2015 Books We Can't Wait To Read

"Smart and absorbing. . . . Echoes of Steven Millhauser and Tom McCarthy. . . . Probing, witty." —The New York Times Book Review
"A masterful debut . . . delivered with vaudeville verve." —The Washington Post
"Darkly funny. . . . A deeply sensitive exploration into matters of identity and authenticity." —Associated Press
"The Poser is smart and grand and funny, a wonderful fable. Mr. Rubin is a great hope for comic fiction in the 21st century. He's got the spirit and the ear." —Sam Lipsyte
A hilarious and dazzling debut novel about a master impressionist at risk of losing his true self

All his life, Giovanni Bernini has possessed an uncanny gift: he can imitate anyone he meets. Honed by his mother at a young age, the talent catapults him from small-town obscurity to stardom.
As Giovanni describes it, "No one's disguise is perfect. There is in every person, no matter how graceful, a seam, a thread curling out of them. . . . When pulled by the right hands, it will unravel the person entire." As his fame grows, Giovanni encounters a beautiful and enigmatic stage singer, Lucy Starlight—the only person whose thread he cannot find—and becomes increasingly trapped inside his many poses. Ultimately, he must assume the one identity he has never been able to master: his own.
In the vein of Jonathan Lethem's and Kevin Wilson's playful surrealism, Jacob Rubin's The Poser is the debut of a major literary voice, a masterfully written, deeply original comic novel, and the moving story of a man who must risk everything for the chance to save his life and know true love.


From the Hardcover edition.
format_aacpleBook
format_category_aacpleBook
ida80b6720-12b4-59b4-e384-875e086eb131
isbn9780698143739
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b9763-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b97631Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a15021581502158-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-ewvkbg9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2020-09-26T08:44:35.648Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780698143739
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1502158eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2015.256 p.
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b9763eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2015
external_econtent:ils:a1502158eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2015.256 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b9763-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:dbddf704-8f15-44a0-843e-3325d78b97631Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a15021581502158-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetComing of Age -- FICTION
Electronic books
Literary -- FICTION
Psychological -- FICTION
title_displayThe Poser A Novel
title_fullThe Poser A Novel
The Poser A Novel [eBook] Rubin, Jacob.
title_shortThe Poser
title_subA Novel
topic_facetComing of Age
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Psychological