Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The truth according to us: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what's right.    Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever.   In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck's father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers' Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty.   At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion--a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla's arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family's past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed--and their personal histories completely rewritten. Praise for The Truth According to Us   "As delightfully eccentric as Guernsey yet refreshingly different . . . an epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters, an intriguing plot and the social sensibilities you would expect of a story set in the South . . . Willa's indomitable spirit, keen sense of adventure and innate intelligence reminded me of two other motherless girls in literature: Scout Finch in Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird and Flavia de Luce in Alan Bradley's big-hearted British mystery series. . . . Just as we did in Guernsey, we empathize with the characters as if they're our neighbors." -- The Washington Post "In The Truth According to Us, Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare. As she subtly unpacks the emotional intricacies of the Romeyn family and their small West Virginia town in the wake of the Great Depression, we're struck by the slipperiness of history--how the stories we tell each other and ourselves often demand to be interrogated; how the things we're driven know about our families, our towns, our closest intimates, will always change us, sometimes over and over. Barrows is at her best here. Every page rings like a bell." --Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife " The Truth According to Us is an irresistible novel, a sly charmer of a story about a small town in Depression-era West Virginia whose history is rewritten by a debutante on the run. Family histories, too, are unraveled, but mended by the fierce, strong women who dominate this delightful page-turner, a tribute to the power of love and forgiveness to heal even the most heartbreaking betrayals." --Melanie Benjamin, author of The Aviator's Wife
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385342940
9781101889954
9780812997842
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDaa7bf561-755b-1b08-6a21-78a1db1af433
Grouping Titletruth according to us
Grouping Authorannie barrows
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-28 04:17:03AM
Last Indexed2020-11-28 04:42:51AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385342940

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Lee, Ann Marie.
Sands, Tara.
Whelan, Julia.
authorAnnie Barrows
author2-roleBooks on Tape, Inc.
Lee, Ann Marie.|Narrator
Sands, Tara.|Narrator
Whelan, Julia.|Narrator
cloudLibrary
author_displayAnnie Barrows
available_at_aacplCrofton Library
Edgewater Library
Mountain Road Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplCrofton Library - Adult Fiction
Edgewater Library - Adult Fiction
Mountain Road Library - Adult Fiction
Odenton Library - Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_description"Miss Layla Beck, the daughter of a powerful Senator from Delaware refuses to marry the gentleman her father has chosen for her and is forced to get a job working for the FWP to write the first official account of Maecdonian History. Her notions of real life--the social whirl of Newport and New York--are totally upended and she despairs in rooming with the overly eccentric Romeyn family in such a small backwater town. The Romeyn family is a fixture in the town, their identity tied to its knotty history. Layla enters their lives and lights a match to the family veneer and a truth comes to light that will change each of their lives forever in deeply personal and powerful ways. As Layla embarks on this grand adventure to establish historical moments in print, her first friend, the town librarian Ms. Betts wisely cautions: "There is a problem with history. All of us see a story according to our own lights. None of us is capable of objectivity." Set against the backdrop of the Great Depression and told through the incredible voices of three narrators you quickly come to love--Layla Beck, Jottie Romeyn, and her niece, twelve year old Willa--this is an intimate family novel of love and family, of history and truth, and of struggle and hope, filled with the kindof characters once you discover, you'll never forget"--
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idaa7bf561-755b-1b08-6a21-78a1db1af433
isbn9780385342940
9780812997842
9781101889954
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14853321485332-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-fqzv4r9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
ils:a121560331997094150000Crofton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (B)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 26, 2019CRO
ils:a121560331997094150174Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (B)1falsefalseOn ShelfSep 25, 2020S-PK
ils:a121560331997094150190Mountain Road Library - Adult FictionFICTION (B)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 03, 2020MTR
ils:a121560331997094149986Odenton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (B)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 20, 2020WCO
ils:a121560331997094149994Edgewater Library - Adult FictionFICTION (B)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 22, 2019EDG
overdrive:a40a4956-641f-48c5-bc95-a019dbff7e36-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:a40a4956-641f-48c5-bc95-a019dbff7e361Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
rbdigital:rbdZ100083376rbdZ100083376RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781101889954Available OnlineRBdigital
overdrive:9de28832-9fa8-4dd0-98a8-f8bd7eabf9131Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-11-28T09:42:51.482Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
FICTION (B)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplCrofton Library
Edgewater Library
Mountain Road Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780385342940
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
external_econtent:ils:a1485332eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2015.528 p.
ils:a1215603BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishThe Dial Press, [2015]491 pages : illustration ; 25 cm
overdrive:a40a4956-641f-48c5-bc95-a019dbff7e36eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
rbdigital:rbdZ100083376eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBooks on Tape ;2015, p2015.1 online resource (18 hr., 52 min.)
ils:a1485332eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2015.528 p.
overdrive:9de28832-9fa8-4dd0-98a8-f8bd7eabf913eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14853321485332-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:a121560331997094150000On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a121560331997094150174On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a121560331997094150190On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a121560331997094149986On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a121560331997094149994On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:a40a4956-641f-48c5-bc95-a019dbff7e36-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:a40a4956-641f-48c5-bc95-a019dbff7e361Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:9de28832-9fa8-4dd0-98a8-f8bd7eabf9131Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAudiobooks
Depressions -- 1929 -- West Virginia -- Fiction
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
FICTION / Historical
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Sagas
Family secrets -- Fiction
Fiction
Historians -- Fiction
Historical -- FICTION
Historical fiction
Literary -- FICTION
Sagas -- FICTION
West Virginia -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
West Virginia -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction
title_displayThe truth according to us : a novel
title_fullThe Truth According to Us A Novel
The Truth According to Us A Novel [eBook] Barrows, Annie.
The truth according to us : a novel / Annie Barrows
The truth according to us [electronic resource] : a novel / Annie Barrows
title_shortThe truth according to us
title_subA Novel
topic_facetDepressions
FICTION / Historical
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Sagas
Family secrets
Fiction
Historians
Historical
Historical Fiction
History
Literary
Literature
Sagas
Social life and customs